…and so it starts…

…and so it starts – the first day of the rest of my life – being fit and healthy.

A little about me…  I’m a Mom to a wonderful loving little boy.  He’s truly the light of my life alongside my Husband.  The two of them are what or should I say who gets me up in the morning – with a smile too!

When I was pregnant with my little man, Natie, it actually started out rocky.  Not because of the pregnancy, but because my Father was very ill.  I spent the first 20 weeks of my pregnancy visiting my Dad upstate in & out of hospitals & rehab facilities.  See…my Dad was the last of my immediate family I had left.  Two years prior to my Dad’s passing I lost my Grandma & Brother.  And on Feb 13th this year it will have been 10 years that I’m without my Mom.  I guess knowing about my past helps to remind me why I’m where I’m at today.

With my Dad’s illnesses – heart problems, type 2 diabetes, etc. a lot of them were due to his weight.  I’m finding myself following in his footsteps WAY before he started showing these problems – and that is what scares me.  Not only for me, but for my Son & Husband.  When I was pregnant I found out I had G.D. – Gestational Diabetes.  When I met with the nutritionist she told me I’m at a higher risk of developing type 2 diabetes and need to focus on getting the weight off after my pregnancy.  I was checking my numbers here & there after delivery & had some concerning numbers.   About 10 months after I had Natie I decided to get a physical.  Everything checked out great except for the fact I’m “borderline” type 2 diabetes.  Ok, less face it – borderline IS type 2 diabetes.  Seriously – you would think that would have been a wake up call for me…sure it was for a little bit.  I lost some more weight & started working out more, but something happened & it all stopped.  Now what was that something – who knows – the wind blew in the wrong direction, I woke up on the wrong side of the bed, anything – I was probably looking for any excuse & whatever I chose worked.

So, why the blog you ask?  eh…who knows?  I’m hoping this will help keep me more accountable…it’ll also be a great way to record my progress – and failures.  I’m not naive.  I know this is a journey where ups & downs are a given.  It’ll be great to read about the failures & see what I did to come out of it.

Where do you go from here?…  Not really sure how I’m going to do this…  Daily posts?  I weigh in weekly with WW – I do online because that’s what works for me at the moment.  Hoping to join meetings with a friend in May after she has her baby – (YEAH Baby Smoosh!).  So I’d like to keep track of those numbers.  I’d also like to do measurements.  I guess monthly measurements?  In the past when I’ve focused on “diet & exercise” I lost more in inches than the number on the scale, so that would help keep me motivated.  Maybe even post some pictures…the good, the bad & the ugly.

Wish me luck!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

