Lots o’ stuff…

Just a quick entry this morning to clear my head of all that’s in it right now… 

Decided to start checking my Fasting Blood Sugar (FBS) after reading a post on the WW message boards – 30 & over – Diabetes thread.  I couldn’t believe some of the FBS they were posting – upwards of 158.  So I decided to check mine after my carb filled dinner last night (which I’ve been shying away from…) and it was 109 – I freaked.  Wake up alert – that’s not good. 

Results

  • Physicians use three levels to differentiate the results of a fasting blood sugar test.
  • A glucose level of 70 to 99 mg/dL is a normal fasting glucose results.

    A glucose level of 100 to 125 mg/dL is considered an impaired fasting glucose result, and can indicate a pre-diabetic condition.

    A glucose level of 126 mg/dL or higher may indicate diabetes. If this result occurs, however, an additional fasting blood glucose test should be conducted to confirm this result.

    Basically it’s telling me what I already know, but still – ugh – just seeing it there on the screen was another wake up call that I needed to stay on track.  I don’t have any test strips left (all expired) from when I had GD, so I’ve been using Rich’s machine.  On my list today is to call the doctor for a script for more test strips.  Hopefully she’ll call them in without having to see me.  (sigh…)

    *******

    The next thing that I decided to do was a WW challenge I found last night while checking out the site (WW that is…).  It’s called “The 15 Minutes to Sanity Challenge”.  Here’s the description:

    One of the biggest obstacles to staying focused on your weight-loss efforts can be forgetting to take time for yourself. Whether it’s full-on meditation (recommended by doctors across the country to lower blood pressure and improve artery health), letting your thoughts slip away in a bathtub, or just shutting the door and your eyes, spend 15 minutes every day on you, and you alone. Your sanity will thank you for it.

    Sounds easy enough, right?  Well, it’s not!  You’d be surprised how much time we take for ourselves – just us alone without 50 million things racing through our heads.  Needless to say this is a challenge I’m really looking forward to every day!  Much needed!

    *******

    And…last but not least is Lent.  Lent starts tomorrow & each year I usually do nothing or when I was a child I gave up meat on Fridays.  I think I’m going to continue the no meat on Friday’s throughout Lent, but this year I’m adding something else – here it goes….Hot Cocoa!  Yes, you read that correct!  I’m choosing to give up Hot Cocoa for Lent this year – all 40 days.  There’s nothing I want more every day than a big ol’ cup of Hot Cocoa to end the day.  I crave it all day long.  I wish I could have an IV drip of Hot Cocoa – Heck have you noticed I capitalize the H & C in Hot Cocoa – I’m coo coo for Hot Cocoa.  I’m hoping after the 40 days “HC” will be a thing of the past….

    Ok, I think I’m done.  :op

    About Lori

    I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    3 Responses to Lots o’ stuff…

    1. Pingback: I heart Rocco… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

    2. Pingback: Annual physical time… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

    3. Pingback: I’m liking numbers of a different kind… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

    Leave a Reply

    