I’m a morning person…

…just not a “set your alarm to get up & go to the gym” kind of person.

Last night I said – let’s try this again.  Let’s set the alarm & get to the gym.  That 5k is coming up & I need…wait NEED to get training more.  So I did.  I even woke up during the middle of the night and didn’t have an argument with my alarm clock (see previous post…)  I actually looked at it & smiled.  Then about an hour later I heard “waaahhhh…”  Oh Lordy – “really Natie?!” I said quietly.  But thankfully before I could open my eyes to check him out in the monitor he was out again.  Must have just lost “Bop”.  Back to sleep I went until the alarm went off.

Started out ok – got dressed in the dark, checked my FBS (more on that later), grabbed a banana and headed out the door.  I get outside & realized I had to play “shuffle the cars” sigh…another delay.  Ok, no problem, moved the car so I could get out.  Had to wait for both cars to defrost since I couldn’t see out any of the windows…  tick tock tick tock…  sigh…  Now I’m sitting in the truck, waiting for the windshield to defrost while eating a banana all along thinking…”I’m up…that’s good right?!”.

Finally – defrosted & on the road I go.  I took a nap at a couple of insanely long traffic lights, but finally made it to the gym.  When I get there I had a mild panic attack that all the treadmills were taken, but thankfully my eye sight must have been bad because half were open.  I hop on, get my C25K program & playlist on & go…  barely.  I felt like the Tin Man from the Wizard of Oz without oil in my joints.  HORRIBLE.  There was no energy at all in my workout.  I might as well have stayed in bed…pbbllllttt…  I ended up walking on an incline for 40 mins before heading home. 

I’ve come to realize that this is me.  I’m not someone who likes to set the alarm to go to the gym and workout hard-core.  I’ve done it in the past with the same results.  Soooo…..  I’m sticking with my Friday & Sunday morning workouts – you know – after I’ve had my cup of coffee & kissed “my boys” anywhere from 8-10 is a GREAT workout time for me.  Those will be my hard-core training days.  Now to figure out how to get at least one more in – hoping the “Spring ahead” next week will make it lighter, so I can get back those Tuesday night runs in my neighborhood or even the track.  We’ll see. 

So back to my FBS – it was 107 – sucky pants.  But, it’s a no brainer that even with a carb free dinner – that lovely snack my caramel apple did it.  Apple – carbs sugar & even though that lovely caramel sauce is sugar-free it still has sugar alcohols in it which is just as bad if not worse.  When I had GD the nutritionist saw on my menus that I ate a SF Mini Hershey bar – she said ditch them & enjoy a real one.  The sugar alcohols effect – wait affect…(I have no clue which to use) my numbers more than if I had sugar.  She always had me stick with a protein before bed whether it be cheese, nuts, etc. you get the idea.  Funny I swore I would never eat another freakin’ almond again…looks like I have to take that back.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m a morning person…

  1. Mary says:

    Working out in the morning isn’t for everyone! Good for you for giving it a valiant effort! I’m also impressed with your positive attitude. Keep at it and you’ll certainly get that number down! GO LORI!!

  2. Pingback: WI, time to face the truth… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  3. Pingback: Your Account Has Been Cancelled…. | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

