Weekend recap…

 I had a great but busy weekend….

Friday we started the day with taking Natie to the doctor’s office.  His temps kicked up higher than they ever were the past couple of nights.  Turns out he had a double ear infections, got some antibiotics and doc told us to keep up with his nebulizer treatments since he was still wheezing.  😦  By that night he started feeling some relief & the fever was gone!  Yeah.  More good news is while we were in the waiting room the medical asst came out to call in another patient, she took one look at me & shouted – “You’re shrinking!” – ahh…love her!

Saturday was a “fabulous” day!  My good friend Kim had her baby shower.  What a gorgeous shower!  There wasn’t a detail missed in the planning of this baby shower!  Fit for a queen!…a FABULOUS queen!  The food was out of this world!  I’m still dreaming of the quiche!  I did really well with controlling myself with wine (I didn’t have any!), the yummy finger sandwiches, scones & other goodies (split all with a buddy).  Even the red velvet cake was to die for, but I managed to squeak by with eating just half a piece.  NOW….the favors…well, there was NO SHARING these!!!  My kryptonite is rainbow cookies.  These were mini rainbow cookie cakes in pink colors for her baby girl.  I was going to take a picture of it, but my camera battery was dead & honestly – there was no waiting for me once I sniffed the box! 😛

Sunday, the big day – my first 5k.  I never finished the c25k program, but I wanted to just do a 5k and “get it over with”.  I was worried because I wasn’t fully prepared, I had a head cold and got my period that morning.  Yeah, lucky me!  I get there & I think it was 30 degrees & with the wind 30 below – not really, but it sure the heck felt like it.  I headed into the gym to get my bib & registration info.  The race was also a half marathon that day so there were some hard core runners there too.  Kind of intimidating for a first race, but whatever…great experience!  Turns out a son of friends of ours checked me in…and it turns out his twin brother was running in the half – (he did AMAZING too! 1:36!).  My friend Lindsay checked in with her hubby.  Lindsay & I got to work with stretching while choking down these horrible energy boosts gels.  Mine was cola – I hate soda so it was horrible, but I kept eating them anyway. (duh)  Soon it was time to stand in the longest line ever for the bathroom before stepping out into the frigid temps again to line up.  Before we could even line up the race started & we were off.  The wind was at our backs for the first mile, which was nice!  Once we made that turn I think died briefly.  The cold wind blowing in my face was insane, then to add the resistance…ugh.  I told Lindsay to just keep going.  I slowed down & took a puff of my inhaler.  Did some walking too, but kept going.  I could see the end in sight – then saw “my boys” walking across the road to cheer me on.  Seeing them brought tears to my eyes.  I blew a kiss to them & kept on going.  Then up ahead were the friends of ours cheering me on & taking pictures.  Then some old guy blew past me – WTH I thought, but whatever – kept on trucking.  Soon I was approaching the finish line & saw a group of my friends that came purposely to cheer me on – along with my friend Lindsay who finished before me.  I always envisioned myself speeding up to the finish line, but instead I think I slowed down – or at least it seemed that way.  I crossed the line & headed for the water & orange slices – LOL.  Once the lungs started slowing down I walked over to my friends & family for some photos.  My final time was 38.15, which I’m told is great for my first time.  I average about a 12:30 mile so it was in line. 

I’m signing up for one in June – hopefully I’ll be able to train & shave some time off my finish.

Lindsay & I getting in some stretches while smiling for pics!

Natie wasn’t too happy with waiting…

“I think I can…I think I can…I think I can…”

Team “L Power” – Lindsay & Lori rocking the pink & black.

My support!  Kim & Azad (& little D!)

My Boys!

My little man

Brrrrrr…..

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weekend recap…

  1. Lindsay says:

    Love Love Love todays post. KP’s shower was amazing and I loved seeing all of the adorable things she got for baby P. On another note, AWESOME job at the race. You did such a great job and should be really proud of yourself! What a great time for your 1st 5K, you beat my 1st 5K time- rock on! Cant wait to run more w/you this summer 🙂

  2. KP says:

    Congrats on your first 5K!!! You did so amazing! I am so proud of you! Cannot wait to run one with you! So glad you had fun at Baby P’s shower!

  3. Mary says:

    I am sooooo freaking proud of you!!! Great job!

  4. biz319 says:

    That is an awesome time for your first 5k! Who knew you would have to dress like it was the dead of winter though!

    Woot!

  5. Pingback: Weekend recap… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  6. Pingback: Weekend recap… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  7. Pingback: Mama’s Day Out! | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

