24 hours…

24 hours of pure insanity!

It all started with this insane, uncontrollable rainbow cookie craving.  It was so overpowering I couldn’t do anything but think & taste rainbow cookies (I told you I loved these damn things….)  I think the “taste” of the one from my friend’s (Kim!) baby shower this past weekend is what planted this demon seed.  BTW – here’s a pic of that thing…(photo credit: Amanda Picone)

Yeah – see that – to die for (and so adorably girly too!)

So yesterday I start Googling “bakeries” in my area.  Before buying our house we lived in a very Italian neighborhood where Italian bakeries were on every block.  Some good, some not so good.  But I could always find a decent rainbow cookie – if not an out of this world one.  I ended up coming across a bakery I forgot about nearby…a friend decided to take a trip….long story short – I bought a pound of them. 😛  When I got them I wasn’t impressed.  Just by the look of them alone I knew it wasn’t going to be the home run I wanted.  That was a huge disappointment.  If I’m going to taste the almond-y squares from heaven – they damn well better be amazing!  (Yes, warning – not all rainbow cookies are created equally!  Really!)  I ended up being able to unload a few of them, but not nearly enough because even though they weren’t the best….they still were calling my name.  NOT cool. 

I headed home, got Natie ready for bed & then headed to Parent’s Night at his daycare.  By the time we got home it was late.  I hate eating that late – 9:30…(I’m normally asleep on the couch by then.), but we threw dinner in the oven & then looked at the box – BAM – 2 more in my belly.  I ran out of the kitchen telling Rich to hurry & eat them – seriously. 

The problem that started was I still had that stupid mentality that said – “look what you just did…you might as well eat whatever you find now…you’re ruined”…  So I did – granted my slight spill only added to extra olive oil on my salad, chunks of cheddar cheese – the full fat kind & a mini wheel of brie (Love you Trader Joes!), but it still wasn’t in my points for the day & all my weekly pts were spent with this past weekend’s festivities (and the 8.5 million rainbow cookies).  It continued until this morning when my mind was consumed with food, food, food. 

 Thankfully I’ve regained control and am taking it as a learning experience.  I’m also looking at the positive…what I did vs. what I would have done in the past – eaten myself out of house & home, then moved on the Carvel, Baskin Robbins & all bakeries on Long Island. 

See – I’m a work in progress!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

