Back from vacation…

and boy is it hard to be back!  First thing is first…I was on program probably about 80% of the time.  Some emotional eating & drinking came into play, but for the most part I did my best at the time & that’s all I could ask for.  I tried to incorporate some sort of activity every day – from demo’ing to walking a bridge.  I didn’t WI this week because I was upstate, so we’ll see the damage vaca caused this week.  I’m hoping not much if anything at all – especially being I’m coming off a gain on my last WI.  (Funny, as I’m writing this I hear the ice cream truck circling my neighborhood…oh boy!)

Before we left last week I had Natie scheduled for a local photographer’s (Michelle McFadden Photography) Easter Mini Shoots.  I got a couple of teaser shots & love them – he wasn’t totally in love with the chicks, but we managed to get a couple of good shots.  I hope to see the rest this week.  Here’s a sneak peek.

After that I took Natie home for a quick change, lunch – turkey on wheat with loaded veggies from Subway, then off for a walk & some more pictures at the Bayard Cutting Arboretum.

We spent the night packing hoping to just get up, get dressed & hit the road…well, that didn’t happen.  Turns out my MIL fell during the week & was in a lot of pain so they were in the ER.  We decided to wait for them & went out for breakfast.  I had a delicious spinach, tomato & feta omelet.  Fantastic.  We got the call that they were out of the ER as we were heading back home – thankfully she’s doing better, still in pain, but there’s no fracture, just a sprain.  We met up with them & headed upstate.  Great ride – no traffic.  I had my usual burst of emotions when we were about 15 mins from the house.  This happens every time – different spots.  It’s just the point on where it all hits me…the fact that I’m heading up there & no one will be there for a hug hello.  Once we get up there we unpack & then head to the nearest grocery store to load the house up for the week – I included lots of fruits, which is rare & lots of veggies which is the norm for me.  We decided to go to Applebees for lunch.  I planned on getting a WW meal, but that didn’t happen.  Instead I got a new item on their menu & ate half – which believe it or not still was an insane portion size.

Monday we woke up with a game plan in mind – to demo this ramp my Dad had installed.  There was a lot of…hmm…not sure the right words, but therapy I guess that this provided for me.  I made it very clear to both Rich & my FIL that I needed to do this regardless of them wanting to reuse pieces for the deck in the back.  This was something I needed no NEEDED to do.  So we put Natie down for his nap & they handed me the mini sledge-hammer & I went to work.  So much anger, pain, you name it was behind every whack I took.  At one point I flat-out cried, but it was good – just washing away the “issues” that lie within.  A much better way to get it out instead of pushing it down with food like I would normally do. 

After I got it out I let them “carefully” take down the rest of the ramp – it took all day, but wow – wonderful!  The home I once knew was back!

The next day included more healing when we got to spend a couple of hours with my Brother’s kids once they got out of school.  I love them as if they were my own.  I wish we lived closer so I could be with them as much as I would like.  I’d also love Natie to be around them more.  They’re so well-behaved & so much fun to be around.  They need more family around them too.

We had one bad day.  My IL’s headed back home…it was a rainy dreary day & we couldn’t do anything we had planned so we decided to head up to Cracker Barrel.  I’ve never been & always hear so much hype about it.  I killed myself by eating a Ruben & fries – the worst was that I had no problems ordering the Coca Cola cake – it was heaven, but boy did I feel horrible that I let myself get taken off track.

Thursday was great.  Natie had another one of his nap strikes, but once he finally went down Rich & I enjoyed a nice Trader Joe’s Chicken Patty on a Sandwich Thin with a big green salad.  Ahhh…much better!  Once Natie woke up & ate lunch we headed to the Rip Van Winkle Bridge for a nice walk.  It’s approx a mile one way.  Now, I have a fear of water…(I actually drown & my Brother saved my life.) what would possess me to walk across a bridge is unknown to me.  I remember doing this before with a friend of mine, but this was before the “incident”.  I forgot how the bridge shakes when you stop, so I kept moving.  It was also strange/distracting walking & seeing these signs…everywhere…I actually knew someone who jumped off the bridge to end her life.  Sadly it happens more than it should.

BUT…as you can see…when I ignored the signs & the fact that I was suspended above the Hudson river I actually enjoyed the walk a lot.  I dreamed of the next time I head up to use the bridge as part of my daily runs – calling them “Rip Runs”…I know corny, but again trying to distract myself of the water. 😛

After our little 2 mile walk Natie was getting antsy sitting in the stroller, so we took him to see the cows & goats at a local farm.  He’s all about animals, so this was right up his alley.  It was cute to see him “moo’ing” at the cows.

Later that night we had our own little animals aka 11 deer in the backyard, but Natie was already out for the night, so he missed them.

Sadly enough the next day we had to head home.  It’s another emotional time for me – saying goodbye to my family.  I feel their presence so much during the week.  I’m not sure if it’s just being there around my childhood home or if they’re really there in some shape of form, but it’s a strong feeling.

That night we had the Yankees game to get to.  Rich received tickets from a customer so we handed two over to his Sister & her Husband & kept two for ourselves. 

We had a great time despite the loss & the FRIGID temps!  (disclaimer to those that know me…yes those are brown gloves with my black jacket – the gloves were a spare in my SIL’s purse & it was too damn cold to care about my pet peeve – 😛 )

Rich said the one good thing about the cold temps was that it kept the beer cold – 😛  Best part – Guinness was only 2 pps each!

Saturday was a lazy, rainy, COLD day – so we all stayed in our jammies & built a lame fort with blankets & pillows in the living room.  I even napped in the fort for a little bit.  😀

Today, back to beautiful sunny weather – I went for a 5k walk, then home to do some yard work while Natie napped before our afternoon of errands.  I feel like I’m back on track – hoping the week with be forgiving.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back from vacation…

  1. Sasha says:

    Oh Lori, knowing you and loving you made this so heart wrenching to read. I totally know that your family is there and you do feel them because they’re all around you. Sending you big hugs!

    Natie is gorgeous. Love the pictures!! And you my dear look great. I love reading your blog!! 🙂 xoxo

    • Lori says:

      Thanks Sasha! I like to think they’re still with me everyday. There’s something about being up there that makes all the memories & feelings so strong. I love it. It’s HOME for more than one reason for sure.

  2. babypetro says:

    Welcome home! Sounds like you had a fantastic week! Glad you were able to demo the hell out of the that ramp! Sorry your MIL was in pain. Love those Natie pics with the chicks. So cute !

  3. Pingback: Got my work cut out for me… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  4. Pingback: Been so busy…. | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  5. Pingback: A step in the right direction…. | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  6. Pingback: Wednesday WI time! | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  7. Pingback: This is the last time… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

