I better get moving….

I just signed up for two 5ks!

I signed up for the Weight Watchers Walk-It Challenge on May 22nd.  The great thing about this is Rich is going to do it with me.  You’ve seen pictures of him – he’s a thin guy, but he’s also type 1 diabetic, so it’s good for him to get out there with me!  Not to mention I love the support.

The next one is at Long Island’s MacArthur Airport on June 4th to benefit the 9-1-1 Veterans Inc.  Not only is this going to be a different kind of run – out there near the runway, but it’s for a GREAT cause!  I have a feeling this is going to be an emotional race – just by reading some of the comments from last year’s race:

 – “Having the troops running and chanting was very motivating and made me extremely proud to take part in this race.”  

 – “loved seeing the troops along the way – we have the best in the world!!! ” 

 – “Great run! Highlights: seeing the Southwest Jet landing, the troops out on the course, and coming around the corner towards end of race and seeing the American flag hanging high above the finish line!”

 – “I loved seeing all the troops stationed along the course and hearing my name as I crossed the finish line.”

The only negative is no strollers are allowed for security reasons & it’s a Saturday – Rich works, so I need to find someone to hang at the finish line with Natie.  It’s usually not hard to find someone who will watch the little man because he so enjoyable – (HA, spoken like a true Mother!).

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I better get moving….

  1. kp says:

    Soooo awesome! Cannot wait to do the MacArthur Airport one with you next year!

Leave a Reply

