I heart Rocco…

Rocco DiSpirito…. ahhh…

Not sure if you recall in one of my previous posts I mention how I won Rocco DiSpirito’s new book – Now Eat This! Diet.  I received it last week, but didn’t even get a chance to do anything but flip through looking at the pictures – YUMMY!  Finally this weekend in the car – making Rich drive so I could get some quality reading time in, I was able to go through the book more in depth.  LOVE it!  I’m so excited to try some of the recipes. 

For example:

Spicy-Sweet Linguine alla Vodka, Individual Crispy “Loaded” Pizza, Mac and Cheese with Ham & Broccoli 

Rocky Road Oatmeal, Pizza Egg Bake, French Toast a L’Orange

Not to mention his endless supply of smoothie recipes – he said he needs to go to a smoothie addict support group.  What a coincidence that it’s been my latest addiction to take place of the “HC”…  maybe we can carpool?  or better yet he can be my sponsor!

Can I even lists the desserts…  Double Chocolate Chip Cookies (using white cannellini beans!) PBJ Cookies, Decadent Lemon Bars, Fudgy Fruit & Nut Bars (using black beans), Silken Chocolate Mousse…  and much more!

The book has some great chapters – like – Gotta-Have Ingredients – where he lists some…well…gotta-have ingredients that you should keep on hand for healthy, flavorful cooking.  Another favorite is Let’s Cook from discussing common obstacles people face when cooking & tips to over come them to how to chop an onion!

His plan is pretty basic – calories in vs calories out.  Can’t get any better than that.  Proven to work.  His recipes make “eating bad” actually pretty good!  I didn’t expect to see simple ingredients and simple recipes. 

Will I do the plan….?  Not now.  Right now my focus is on trying a few recipes & working them into my current WW plan.  Does that mean I’m never going to – no way.  I think it’ll be perfect to add in either when I need a change, hit a plateau or just get comfortable enough cooking all my meals.

Stay tuned for some recipe reviews!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I heart Rocco…

  1. laurajane says:

    I love getting new healthy recipe ideas! I think you’ve got a great approach with incorporating the recipes into your WW plans instead of switching plans altogether. WW is working for you right now! Congrats on the 1.4 loss last week!!

Leave a Reply

