Mother’s Day Weekend Recap & Nap Strikes…

As you know the weekend starts on Friday for me.  It was such a beautiful day that instead of being cooped up in the gym, we decided to go for a long walk around the neighborhood together as a family.  After our walk I hopped in the shower & then headed over to see my friend’s new little angel – Kylie Rose!  By far the cutest baby girl I ever met!  After visiting little Miss Kylie I headed home expecting to find Natie still in for his nap before his dentist apppointment – nope.  Nap strike again!  Nap strikes are bad enough let alone before a first dentist visit!  Thankfully he wasn’t too bad.  His chipped tooth is bad, but thankfully no infection or causing him any pain, so we made an appt for 6 months to keep an eye on it.  The dentist also said he’s in teething hell, so this could be why he’s been a little “off”.  We ended the night with another one of my “chiropractic date nights”… 😀 while my in-laws watched Natie.  (Sometimes I wonder if we’re 35 or 75…)

Then came Saturday.  Saturday was GREAT!  My Cousin came over (her visits are always the best!).  She brought over a delicious Rainbow Cookie Cake that we enjoyed over a cup of coffee.  Natie ended up on day 2 of his nap strike so we decided to brave it & head over to Ruby Tuesday’s for lunch.  I’m really liking their new menu with a lot of healthy sides.  If their new menu is a result to the calories being on the menu then I’m all for it!  My Cousin & I decided to split the crab cakes, a side of creamy mashed cauliflower & grilled zucchini.  Add the garden bar & we were set!  Natie was a Mr. Independence feeding himself with his fork.  I think it helped keep him occupied so he wouldn’t have a meltdown.

After lunch we wanted to hit up Whole Foods & Trader Joes.  On our way there Natie passed out in the car, so I stayed with him while she shopped & then finally decided I had to wake him before he was napping through bed time!  Thankfully the food samples at Trader Joes kept him happy & then the banana from the produce guy kept him happy at Whole Foods.  They weren’t kidding when they said a way to a man’s heart is through his stomach – I guess the it’s the same for toddler boys! 😛

Then came Mother’s Day…ahhh…it was wonderful!  I woke up insanely early as I had the past couple of days at 5:30 am.  I decided to get up & make a pot of coffee & just enjoy the peace & quiet before “the boys” woke up.  It wasn’t too long before they did.  We started the day with our Mother’s Day tradition – diner for blueberry pancakes!  Delicious!  Back home for Natie to nap – guess what?  Nap strike #3, so we piled in the car hoping he’d fall asleep on our way to Old Westbury Gardens…nope!  We walked the grounds & finally Natie was out.  I took lots of pictures & thankfully some Mom passing by with her family offered to take a picture of all of us together – Mom’s know to do these things….  they know it’s rare to get everyone in the picture.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother’s Day Weekend Recap & Nap Strikes…

  1. biz319 says:

    What a great weekend you had! I think my favorite picture is of your son on the bench where he’s wearing the hat – too cute!

    My daughter was a sleeper – seriously my friends wanted to know what I did to her because she slept so much. And now, at age 19, she still sleeps great!

    Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

