Weekend recap…

Friday was insane day.  We brought Natie into daycare so we could get some neglected things done at home.  After I dropped Natie off I headed directly to the gym for a good run.  Then to the dentist for a checkup that was past due!  (note: new Moms take care of yourselves too!)  After that I tackled the inside of the house while Rich tackled the outside.  Needless to say we missed the little guy too much & picked him up earlier than we expected (besides not EVERYTHING was going to get done anyway.)  That night we binged on Chinese food.  I counted everything, but it still felt like a binge.  I always feel like I miscount something & don’t “charge” myself enough points. 

Saturday started out great, until Natie’s white noise machine stopped before he was completely out for his nap.  It kept stopping & starting (apparently they’re known for shorting out…)  If you’ve been following you know that lately he’s been having sleeping issues, so this was the last thing I needed.  I finally had to go in there & jiggle the button for it to work, but at that point it was like starting from the beginning.  Eventually he calmed down just “rested”.  He wouldn’t fall asleep but laid there looking up at his name letters above his crib.  Finally he decided enough was enough & screamed for me to come & get him.  We decided to get the day started by heading over to visit my Cousins at the Boy Scouts garage sale they were having.  I scored & got an old Speedway sled!  Mine from my childhood is missing & I’ve been wanting to have one for an outside decoration during the winter.

While there we did some exploring, which Natie likes to do a lot, but soon he got so tired he turned into a cranky little guy.  So we headed home.  I didn’t get more than 1/4 mile down the road & he was passed out in the car.  When we got home I tried to carefully take him out of the car, but he managed to wake up & scream for another 2-3 hours.  It was pure torture.  Nothing I could do helped him.  Looking back I should have just sat in the driveway & let him sleep, but it was too close to his bedtime.  That night, once again I let the stress, nerves, not sure what to call it predict what I ate – or should I say what I didn’t eat.  I was too upset to eat until I finally calmed down around 9pm & ate whatever I could find.  Blah.

Sunday morning I was determined to start the day out right.  I’ve been wanting to try the breakfast oat cakes that Marisa from Loser for Life has been sharing with us & WOW – so good!  Not to mention so simple!  Here’s the one I tried first:

Banana Oat Breakfast Cake

  • 1 tbsp. ground flax meal + 2.5 tbsp. water
  • 1 medium very ripe banana, mashed
  • 2 tbsp. unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze (or milk)
  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp.  maple extract (or vanilla)
  • dash salt

Mix flax with water and set aside for 3 minutes.  Combine remaining ingredients.  Add flax mixture;  stir until fully combined.  Coat a 6 oz. ramekin with cooking spray.  Pour batter into ramekin and spread evenly.  Microwave for 1 min. 45 sec.  Let cool slightly.  Enjoy!

Makes 1 serving for 6 PointsPlus

After that I left the boys & headed to the gym.  My run was a bit painful.  I wasn’t feeling it during the first 10mins, but finally came around.  The painful part wasn’t even that though, it was the guy in front of me who…well….had a bad case of B.O.!  I had to turn the fan off on my treadmill because that helped the smell make its way towards me.  I literally ran with my hand covering my nose to try & help cover the smell – anyone watching must have thought I was the weirdo.  😛  Afterwards I headed home, played with Natie for a bit & got him down for a nap – SUCCESS!  He slept a good 2 hours while Rich & I got more “stuff” done.  Then off to a day of grocery shopping & to get some new shirts for the both of us.  I found a couple of things I liked so at least I’m not wearing the same thing day after day.  I just hate spending on clothes when I pray I’m not this size forever, but the other stuff was too big – yeah!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend recap…

  1. Jessica says:

    Hey, I’m new here and haven’t read a ton, so I apologize in advance if I’m asking something that has already been covered: have you tried a plain old fan for white noise for Natie? I don’t really know what a white noise machine sounds like, so maybe a fan won’t do at all, but maybe it’ll help a little until you can get another white noise machine.

    On a related note: my brother and his wife burned out a vacuum cleaner in nine months because it was the only way my niece would fall asleep. 🙂 They’d just leave it run in her room!

    • Lori says:

      Hi Jessica!

      We’ve used a fan in the past in a pinch & it seemed to work great for him. The white noise machine we have for him is a little Homedics sound spa machine. It has all different sounds from rain (Natie’s favorite) to heartbeat. Believe it or not I heard about the short & bought another as a backup. HA! Thankfully it came in handy for bedtime!

      It’s so funny you mention about the vacuum… we tried that when he was a newborn, but the sound drove me absolutely nuts! At his newborn photo shoot we kept my hair dryer going the entire time – I guess we’ll do just about anything to help them sleep, huh?

      • Jessica says:

        Hair dryer! I’ve not heard that one before. What a good idea. It’s a lot cheaper to burn out a hair dryer than a vacuum cleaner…

Leave a Reply

