Weekend recap…

The weekend started out great – Natie & I had a Mommy & Me class at The Little Gym (got a Groupon deal for them.)  It was our first one & we had a great time.  We learned some cool flips we can do together – still have yet to show Daddy, so he can do them with him too.  After that I had planned on going to the gym when Natie napped, but the in-laws came over.  FIL was over to help Rich put in a dry well & my MIL is out of work since her shoulder operation.  So I had to run out to the grocery store to pick up lunch for us, while I was out I got a few other things done, but it really put me in the mood not being able to hit the gym on Friday.  I rounded out the night with a chiropractor appt/date night with Rich, so it ended on a good note.

Saturday was all messed up too.  My SIL was going to have a party for her little guy’s birthday, but that got rescheduled last-minute.  When Natie got up from his nap instead of rushing out the door we ended up having a relaxing day at home together just taking it easy.  It was a beautiful day – I wanted to get out & go walking with him, but he wasn’t having it.  I can tell he was coming down with something when he gets mushy & just wants to cuddle, which is always fine by me.  I could cuddle with him all the time if he’d let me.  He gives the absolute best hugs and kisses.  🙂 

Sunday was definitely more of a non-stop day.  Coffee was brewing, breakfast was in the works – On the weekends I’m all about eggs, since I don’t really have the time to make them during the week.  Pair some eggs with Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin & I’m good to go!  After breakfast I headed out to the gym…I was undecided about going since I had the Weight Watchers Walk-It Challenge in the afternoon, but being I missed Friday’s workout I figured what the heck.  It turned out to be a great run on the treadmill.  Plenty spots were open & no stinky guy this week.  I love Sunday mornings at the gym (What?  Did I just say that?)  I knew I needed to get a good run it to get out of my funk.  It definitely helped.  I was energized to get the rest of the day going.  Once I got home it was a short visit with Natie & Daddy before Natie went down for his nap.  I just adore watching him play and “read” his books.  While he was down I quick went online to get the particulars for the walk that afternoon & make lunch.  Soon Natie was up & it was another whirlwind day – quick feed him & then we all get ready to get out the door for the walk.  It said to get there early due to the limited number of bibs available.  We lucked out because my Cousin lives on the route – she actually had the 2 mile marker on her front lawn!  😛  We parked at her house & walked to a side street/back entrance into the park.  Super easy!  At this time it was 2:10 & it was PACKED!  There was no more parking at the park & lines galore for sign in.  Thankfully the line for our last name had no one in it so we got our bibs, shirts & pins & waited…& waited…& waited.  Natie wasn’t digging all this waiting so we walked around.  The line for the bathroom seemed to go on for miles – another plus of my Cousin’s house being right around the corner!  The race actually started late because the line was so long.  Once it started we were off.  Natie had no clue what was going on and he cried…I felt bad running away from him (Daddy was on stroller duty), but I knew he was in good hands.  I was smarter this time – kept a good steady pace.  Unlike the first 5k I did where I was too hyped up and ran out of steam after the first mile.  I saw a lot of people make that mistake this time too.  I guess it’s pretty common.  The route was great – flat & through a nice town.  I found myself looking at houses & landscaping vs thinking holy crud I’m running – am I crazy?  I was next to this husband & wife that were keeping a good pace.  If I found myself passing them I knew I needed to pull back.  I found when I was running with them I felt comfortable.   As we were nearing the end the husband turned around & cheered us on.  HA!  I felt like an adopted wife.  😛  At the point we entered back to the parking lot of the park they picked up speed.  I pretty much stayed the same because at that point if I stepped it up a bit I would have crashed.  Just as I’m making my way around the pond Stronger by Kayne West came on my playlist.  (Great song as you’re nearing the finish line!)  I moved it around in my playlist so I’d hear more of it this race & ended up getting it pretty much the same spot because….I had a PR -I ended up shaving 2 minutes off my time of the first 5k I did.  My finishing time was 36.11, where my first was 38.15!  YEAH me!  I grabbed an orange & some water & then waited for Rich, Natie & Susan to cross the finish line.  It was funny, as Rich was approaching I saw Natie must have taken off his shoe, so Rich had to stop to pick it up, then cross the line.  He said throughout the entire race Natie kept saying “Mommy?” as someone passed.  awwwhhh….   Soon Susan came across the finish line too!  I was so happy she shared this day with us.  It made it so much more fun!  I hope she does the one next year too…  (wink wink)  Unfortunately no one was there to take pictures of me crossing the line, but I’ll remember the day for sure!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend recap…

  1. Pingback: Been so busy…. | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  2. Jessica says:

    Great job! Shaving two whole minutes off your time! Awesome!

  3. Pingback: Weekend recap… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

