Weekend recap…

I had all intentions of being 100% on plan this weekend, but that didn’t happen.  Life got in the way – along with some self sabotaging talk.  I wanted to kick my own as$!

Friday I went to the gym as planned, but cut my workout short…why?  I just didn’t feel like it.  So instead of running 3.1 miles I did 2.5.  Not that big of a deal, but still that was it.  I didn’t bother doing anything else.  All I wanted to do was get home.  I got home & got right on track with lunch & all the other “chores” we had on our list before the in-laws came, before early packet pickup & before my chiropractor appt/date night.  (I still chuckle at that…) 

Saturday morning started out great!  I got up early, made some coffee & just relaxed.  Then came the time when we all had to get ready & get out the door at the same time.  I wanted to leave at 8am, but didn’t actually leave until 8:20.  Thankfully the airport (where the race was being held) is by my house, but the traffic was unreal.  My race partner Lindsay called just as we pulled in.  I walked in with her while my Cousin, Susan took the driver’s seat & stayed in the traffic with Natie and my in-laws.  Oddly enough we all got to the start about the same time.  😛  There was some confusion on where to start whether you were a walker or a runner, but there was no confusion on our part.  Talk about a herd of people.  This was a big race for being just the 2nd annual race.  Before we knew it we were off.  I started off & kept up with the pack but was feeling wiped so early on.  I had my Runkeeper on at the same time & when “she” said my pace was 9:30 I knew I was setting myself up for disaster – I’m a 12 min/mile kind of girl!  So I slowed down more towards my pace.  At that point people were passing me left & right.  In came more self sabotaging talk.  By doing that I made myself more & more vulnerable to every ache.  I was getting so mad at myself.  Like a little war with myself inside my head.  I tried to stay focused on me, my breathing, my music, the chants of the West Point cadets jogging behind me, but my argument with myself took over.  Eventually I stopped & walked for a bit.  At this point we’re on the tarmac & the sun was beating down.  Have I ever said how much I hate being hot?  😀  I started back up, more towards my pace.  At this point I look over & see the leaders of the pack flying by & I think “Holy $hit!, they’re FAST!”  Before I knew it my friend’s Son who kicked butt in the half marathon (during my first 5k) flew on by.  He finished in at 19:34, which his parents tell me is slow for him, he’s usually done in 18 mins!  (faint)  I couldn’t even cheer him on he flew on by like the Road Runner!  After that I saw the long journey ahead of me & just did it.  I saw a few people cutting over to the return loop & just shook my head – they’re just cheating themselves.  I kept on trucking.  I LOVED seeing the soldiers line the route.  Some even saluting as we passed – like wow – we should be saluting you!  You had the cadets from West Point, even an Army troop jogging on by.  Some guys in full uniform too…boots & all.  I was sweating & here they are fully dressed!  I wanted to get some pictures, but my camera/mp3 player/Runkeeper thing aka phone was secure in my fitness belt that I couldn’t be bothered – not to mention I needed to focus.  Probably my favorite man in uniform was this Marine who had a t-shirt on that said “Pain is Weakness Leaving Your Body”.  I kept my eyes on his shirt as I finished up the race.  There’s nothing like approaching the finish line with soldiers along the route cheering you on, as you look up at this huge American flag and when you run over it you hear your name called.  Best race yet!  Definitely running this yearly.  I added a few seconds to my time since the WW Walk-It Challenge finishing at 36.39.

After the race I headed home with everyone.  Had a great day, but did pick a lot….and didn’t count all the picks – aka BLTs.  That behavior then carried onto Sunday where I not only didn’t count everything I ate, but I also skipped the gym.  Add more self sabotaging talk & I woke up miserable today.

Thankfully an e-mail from Biz to start to the 101 Days of Summer Challenge & a motivating blog post from Marisa – Loser for Life set the day straight!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekend recap…

  1. kp says:

    Yeah great job on the race!!! Sounds awesome! Totally cannot wait to do this with you next year and start running again. OMG miss it so much! Another week and then I should get clearence. If I can scrape myself together and get out the door to workout it will be awesome…lol.

    • Lori says:

      Yeah! I can’t wait to do the race with you next year. It’s so much fun – the energy is really there! Let me know when you want to strap our LO’s in strollers & go for a walk/jog. (Miss you!)

  2. That sounds like a GREAT race, Lori! I’ve had those kind of runs where you are constantly battling yourself! But, you were able to push through and finish strong! You rock!!

    Now, let’s make a deal with each other… no more self-sabotage talk! We are only hurting ourselves and we deserve better! We would never let our kids talk that way about themselves, right? We can do this! 🙂

    • Lori says:

      You’re so RIGHT Marisa! This self-sabotage talk was really bringing me down. Your post yesterday along with Biz’s e-mail really picked me up. It’s so good to know others go through this too & it’s not just me!

      Funny – I was thinking of you & how you ran the half. I came across that post last week. While I was running I kept thinking…how the hell did she do it? 😛

  3. Pingback: WI today & signed up for 2nd 5k of the summer! | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  4. Pingback: Your Account Has Been Cancelled…. | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

