Quick & easy, low points, toddler friendly too!

One of my favorite things lately is to open up my inbox & see the latest posts from some of my blog favorites.  One of my favorites is Gazing In.  I get caught up in Sarah’s posts about her hikes – like this one the other day on a Waterfall Hike.  That is just pure heaven right there – look at those pictures!  Definitely my kind of day.  Most people honeymoon in the tropics, Rich & I preferred to go to Vermont.  I always say about myself “You can take the girl out of upstate, but you can’t take the upstate out of the girl!” 😀 

Sarah also has tons of vegetarian & vegan recipes.  I have a few ok, several saved I’d like to try.  Though I’ll never become a full vegetarian or vegan.  I just don’t have it in me. 

Sarah usually makes a mean tofu scramble. (which is on my list) so it was to my surprise to see a recipe for Egg Muffins using egg beaters.  When I saw this recipe I immediately thought – how perfect for Natie!  He’s BIG into eggs.  He could easily live on eggs – seriously!  These just happened to be the right size to bring into daycare for lunch paired with a mini whole wheat bagel. (Another favorite of his.)  An extra bonus for me is they’re low in points & perfect for me to reheat at work for my breakfast!

I did a little tweaking to the recipe based on what I had on hand.  I’ll change it up each time based on what veggies I may have in the freezer or fresh from this summer’s farmer’s markets!  Can’t forget cheeses – goat, cheddar, feta…  meats…sausage or tofu crumbles, bacon bits…mmmm!

Based on what was on hand last night – here’s what I did:

Egg Muffins

Ingredients

  1.  16 oz container of Egg Beaters
  2. 1 Tbsp bacon bits
  3. 1 Tbsp shredded cheddar cheese
  4. Handful of chopped frozen spinach
  5. 1 Tbsp frozen chopped onion

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray muffin tins with cooking spray.  (Pam makes a Butter flavored one, which goes nice with this.)

Defrost/steam frozen veggies in the microwave.  Drain out all water.

Mix together all ingredients.

Put mixture into tin using a 1/3 cup measuring cup, .  (Sarah used the Texas size tins, which I need to get my hands on!  I just had the regular sized muffin tins on hand & they worked great.)

Bake 20 minutes or until firm to touch.

That’s it!  I made a double batch for us so we could all enjoy throughout the week.  Natie caught a glimpse of them so we shared one before he went to bed.  He cried & cried when it was all gone – I guess that means it’s a success!

BTW – based on the recipe above it’s 1 pointsplus per egg muffin.  Can’t go wrong with that!

 

 

 

…and just another rave for Dream Dinners….  Last night I had the Creamy Chicken Chipotle Ravioli, steamed some broccoli to bulk it up & had a delicious 11 pointsplus dinner.  Sooo flavorful & fresh!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Quick & easy, low points, toddler friendly too!

  1. Sarah says:

    Have you made Natie lil’ meatloaves? When my oldest was younger I would make them often in muffin tins. It works great! It also is great at Thanksgiving for the stuffing. Yes, I am a dork….. 😀

    • Lori says:

      What a great idea. I’ve been making meatballs, but mini meatloafs in the muffin tins is a perfect idea. I should do a batch of stuffing – one of his favorites! If you’re a dork – then so am I! 😀

  2. I’ve tried a similar type of egg muffin and they are great! They usually freeze really well, too!
    Have a great day, Lori!

  3. Sara says:

    I love egg “McMuffin” sandwiches that we make at home on the weekends, and I love hard boiled eggs or deviled eggs but any other egg I just can’t stomach anymore. I think it’s a texture thing. However I think I’m going to give those egg muffin cups a whirl due to all the yummy additions to help add some umpf to the dish! Looks great 🙂

    • Lori says:

      I’m an egg fanatic lately. So much that last night I had over easy eggs for dinner because I saw eggs on a couple blogs… God help me! :p

  4. biz319 says:

    I love that – and I sometimes layer canadian bacon on the bottom and then pour the mixture in – yummers!

    Have a great day!

  5. Looks tasty! Eggs are a staple for me. You can also freeze these and just take them out as you need them.

    • Lori says:

      Thank you! I’ve never received a blog award before – whoo hoo! Just saw the rules, tonight I’m going to have to do some thinking!

  6. sara says:

    Cute! Love the little egg muffins…they look really tasty and easy to make!

  7. Pingback: Fit n' Healthy Mama

  8. Pingback: My recipe weekend post continues… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

