WI, Journal break & Beach

I realized I never posted my Thursday WI results….  I lost 0.4!  That’s great news.  Still trying to get bigger numbers – aka – make up for the damage I did over vacation, but at least it’s a step in the right direction.

Unfortunately I went out of control – well, not so much out of control just not 100% in control, which is where I need to be to see results.  Friday at the gym there was just no motivation.  I ran for a minute & just couldn’t run anymore.  My calves were still killing a week later from the 5k the week before.  My calves NEVER bother me.  I was really off that day & it’s carrying on.  I decided to just walk it off – literally.  I took the treadmill to an incline, which gave me the nice stretch on my calves.  After that started the non-stop busy Friday’s I’m so used to now.  Every appointment I can get I cram it in.  All in all it was a wonderful day.  Eating wise – can’t say.  I didn’t journal all weekend.  I just wasn’t feeling it at all.  No interest.  No motivation.  Just needed a break.  I get scared that in that “break” I am going so far off track.  I’m feeling myself slip – BUT the good thing is I’m not throwing in the towel.  I KNOW this is temporary & I’m NOT GIVING UP!  I swear, in the past I would have…given up that is.  I would have.  That’s the difference between then & now.  It’s a big step for me.  Baby steps, right?

Saturday I wanted to check out a new local beach to us.  Well, the beach itself isn’t new, just new to us.  I heard it was a family friendly beach nearby – gotta love living somewhere for 4 years & just finding out about this beach.  Natie & I quickly ate breakfast & then headed out the door to check it out.  It certainly wasn’t your typical beach day, but we enjoyed every moment of it.  We were one of a few people there.  It was a chilly, overcast day with threats of rain.  After our GPS taking us on an insanely long scenic route we made it there.  What a GREAT beach.  It’s small, has a nice new fenced in playground, the parking is close to the water & includes restrooms & a concession stand.  What is even better – free for town residents!  Score!  What I love too is that it’s on the north shore, so it’s the bay & not the crazy waves of the ocean.  I’d be too nervous to take Natie to the ocean by myself.  (A story for another day about how my Brother saved my life in the ocean.) So even though we didn’t go in the water, I’m happy to know it’ll be “my speed”. 😀

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WI, Journal break & Beach

  1. Great job on the 0.4! You’re headed in the right direction. I love your attitude about not giving up. I was really struggling earlier this week as well.

    • Lori says:

      How are you doing Laura? Getting out of the struggle? I’m finding Monday’s are a “fresh start” for me – it’s also a LOT easier for me to track & stay on schedule while working…

  2. Sara says:

    So apparently you and I are in the same boat with exercise and journaling! I haven’t worked out in a week (not cool) and I haven’t wrote down my points since my meeting last Wednesday. I’ve been really bad about writing down every single thing I eat and try to keep track in my head, which I know I shouldn’t do. I’d say for the past three weeks I haven’t journaled like I should—got to get back on the horse. Thankfully I’m ‘still losing so yeah for that!

    You can stick with this!!! You can and I can and like you said, this time no throwing in the towel. Just have to keep at it and keep trying. 🙂

    • Lori says:

      You know what gets me Sara…those darn BLTs! I’ve been finding myself being a little lazy on tracking them…which makes me lazy all together.
      For some reason the work week I’m good. How about you?

  3. You can do it! Just take it half a day at a time. Do the best you can for the first half and then take the 2nd half – next thing you know – you’ve had a great day! And a loss is a loss!!

    • Lori says:

      Great idea Jenn! Sometimes even taking it day by day can be tough. I like the idea of breaking up the day! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

