Weekend recap…lots o’ recipes sampled!

This weekend I was great.  Busy, but great!  As I mentioned the in-laws were staying with us for the weekend so I figured it was a perfect time to sample some new recipes.  I was an over achiever for Biz’s 101 Days of Summer Challenge!  I actually chose two of Biz’s recipes and two of Gina’s from Skinny Taste’s recipes.

Friday was an all around busy day with lots of running around to do, so it was quick & easy.  Ordered takeout for the in-laws while Rich & I ran to my chiropractor appt – hit up the usual Subway afterwards. 

Saturday we started the morning right!  I couldn’t wait to start recipe one of my 4 new recipe weekend.  Sounds so sad, but I’m serious.  It kept the weekend interesting.  Sometimes eating the same old thing can get boring, but by sampling new recipes it kept me on track!  Ok, back to the recipe!  It was Biz’s of My Bizzy KitchenBroccoli Zucchini Egg Bake!

Broccoli Zucchini Egg Bake

Ingredients

 

2 cups Egg beaters
2 ounce ham
3 ounce broccoli
2 ounce zucchini
1 ounce mozzarella cheese
2/3 cup cooked potato

 

Directions

 

  1. Shred zucchini and squeeze out water. Layer 2/3 cup canned potatoes in a square pan – chop broccoli and sprinkle over top. Add zucchini and diced ham. Pour two cups of Egg Beaters over top and finish off with 1 ounce mozzarella cheese.

 

Bake at 375 for 35 minutes, or until eggs are set.

I did everything the same except added (look away Biz!) some onions!  Biz hates onions so you won’t see them in her recipes….  Me on the other hand…pile them on!  I happened to have frozen chopped onions in the freezer, so I took a handful & threw them in.

The result – delicious!

I stretched this recipe to 6 slices to accommodate all of us & it came to 2 PointsPlus per slice.  Thankfully the 6 slices – 5 of us, left one for me to have for breakfast on Monday – Happy Monday to me! 🙂

Now let’s fast forward to Sunday morning – Father’s Day morning and guess what?  Another great Biz breakfast at our house.  This day we had the pleasure of sampling her Broccoli & Turkey Sausage Crustless Quiche!

 

Broccoli and Turkey Sausage Quiche Recipe

Ingredients

1 cup egg substitute
1 cup egg whites
1 cup cottage cheese
3 turkey sausage links
1/4 cup reduced fat cheddar cheese
6 ounce broccoli
1 pinch salt
1 pinch pepper

 

Directions

  1. Mix egg beaters, egg whites, cottage cheese with salt and pepper. Chop broccoli and add to mixture. Dice up breakfast sausage and mix well. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese.
  2. Pour into pie pan that has been sprayed with Pam. Bake at 375 for 35 to 45 minutes, or until eggs are set.
  3. Let cool before cutting.

The result – everyone was begging for more!

Now, what’s funny about this…is as I’m writing this I see in her post of the picture of the ingredients & she said she forgot to add a 1/2 cup of buttermilk to the ingredients list, but to be honest…It didn’t need it.  I didn’t even know it was missing.  No one did. 

I was able to cut this into 8 slices, which broke down to 2 PointsPlus each.  We all had 1.5 slices…umm…Natie had two.  What can I say – he wins because he’s so damn cute!  This was him after it was all gone – looking around saying “No more?”  Yet he felt the need to check everyone’s plate around the table – Score 1 for Biz!

"What do you mean there's no more of Biz's Broccoli & Turkey Sausage Crustless Quiche?"

Tomorrow….more recipes!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend recap…lots o’ recipes sampled!

  1. biz319 says:

    Aw, thanks for the shout out!! Glad they both turned out great! 😀

  2. Glad they turned out so well! I’m definitely going to try the quiche. I’ll probably use real eggs instead of egg substitute and I might leave out the turkey sausage because I don’t have it, but everything else, I have.

    • Lori says:

      I recommend hitting up the grocery store & picking up some Turkey Breakfast Sausage – that’s what really makes the dish so flavorful!
      I had some Turkey Breakfast Sausage leftover so I made a huge batch of the egg muffins combining both recipes – sooo good!

  3. Pingback: My recipe weekend post continues… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

