My recipe weekend post continues…

As I mentioned in the last post I sampled 4 new recipes this past weekend while the in-laws were in town.  I made little, if no changes to the recipes.  They were fabulous as is!  I ended up taking two recipes each – from MyBizzyKitchen.com & SkinnyTaste.com.  Reviews of Biz’s recipes are here – BTW, I ended up making a batch of the egg muffins using a combination of the two recipes – ROCKED…and again – toddler approved!

The first recipe we sampled from SkinnyTaste was the Crock Pot Pasta Sauce with Sausage

Crock Pot Pasta Sauce with Sausage

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean chicken Italian sausage, casings removed
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 5 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 28 oz tuttorosso crushed tomatoes
  • fresh cracked pepper

Directions:

Brown the sausage in a large skillet, breaking up any large pieces with a wooden spoon. When sausage is browned, drain if needed and add to crock pot.

Clean skillet with a paper towel and set flame to high; when hot add oil. Add garlic and cook until golden but do not burn; add tomatoes and garlic to crock pot along with fresh cracked pepper. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

If you wish, take an immersion blender and blend the sauce a 2-3 seconds to break the sausage up into smaller pieces to combine with the sauce.

Perfect!  The only thing I added was some fennel seed – (I’m a freak obsessed with fennel seed in my meat sauce & sometimes the sausage just doesn’t have enough.  I also added some fresh basil towards the last hour of cooking.

Now, I want to first say…I’m a sauce snob.  Especially when it comes to a meat sauce.  I feel none can compare to my Mom’s.  Well, this came close!  I have to say during the day I sampled the sauce while it was cooking & wasn’t too excited about dinner regardless of the delicious smells through the house during the day.  I plated the food, took the picture & digged in – boy was I surprised!  It was fantastic!  I loved the addition of the dollop of ricotta cheese.  Throughout the meal everyone commented on how delicious it was even my Mother-in-law! 😀

Definitely making this again – maybe even subbing the regular Italian sausage in my Mom’s recipe for the chicken Italian sausage…would I even go crazy to switch out the beef to ground turkey?  Why not…I think I will now!

The next day was Father’s Day.  We wanted to grill some steaks & have a “different” side.  Last week in honor of Father’s Day Gina from SkinnyTaste.com posted a bacon inspired macaroni salad!  It was her BLT Macaroni Salad!

BLT Macaroni Salad

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz uncooked elbows, low carb or whole grain (brown rice pasta for gf)
  • 4 slices 25% reduced fat center cut bacon
  • 2 large ripe tomatoes, beefsteak or vine ripe, diced small
  • 4 tbsp reduced fat mayonnaise (I used Hellman’s)
  • salt and fresh pepper to taste
  • 2 cups baby spinach

Directions:

In a large skillet cook bacon on medium-low heat until crispy on both sides.

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta according to package directions.

Chop tomatoes and combine it along with any accumulated juice with mayonnaise and pepper in a medium bowl. Drain pasta and rinse with cold water to cool. Combine pasta with tomatoes and spinach mixing well. Toss in bacon right before serving.

I didn’t have elbows in the house, so I used bow ties – how perfect for Father’s Day too!

We paired it with a grilled sirloin – topped with bleu cheese butter – (Can I get an Amen?!), and some corn on the cob.


This made such a huge hit with the Dads (Mom’s too!)  It worked perfect with the steak & corn on the cob.  Rich is already asking when I’ll make it again.  Two for two Gina!

BTW – Corn on the cob is apparently GREAT for a teething toddler! 😀

Afterwards we headed outside to enjoy the amazing weather we had.  We were finally able to get Natie’s pool filled & water table setup – we all had a blast.

I hope your Father’s Day was a great one!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

