Making it a quick one…

Disappointing WI today – gained 0.9.  I had a great week!  I worked out, I tried new recipes, I stayed within my PointsPlus range…WTF?  I believe a lot of it is water weight gain with good ol’ AF soon-to-be making her appearance, but it didn’t stop me from crying buckets of water in the shower after I stepped on the scale this morning.  The usual “I’m going to give up“, “I can never lose this stupid weight“, “I’m a failure“…all kept creeping into my head, but then I thought of the many blogs in my blogroll at how they’re such an incredible inspiration to me, how they all kept going & some still are despite stupid setbacks like a 0.9 gain. 

So, you guessed it – I put on my big girl panties & said enough self sabotage talk.  Move on.  What’s the plan of attack for the week ahead?….

Well, we were able to deter the in-laws for staying another weekend with us.  Saturday is Rich’s birthday, so they’re coming on Sunday to celebrate.  I can handle one meal, one day, but having to make all these big meals all weekend long…was/is too much.  I’ll be sampling two new recipes this weekend in honor of his birthday.  One I know will be WW approved – the other one, probably not so much, but that’s what the weekly points are for. 

On the workout front – I’ve been so anti-running since the 5k where all I did was self sabotage myself.  It didn’t help that they e-mailed me pictures from that race & all I wanted to do was puke/cry looking at them.  BUT…I’ve realized it’s the one workout I can do that makes me feel good when I’m “in the groove”.  You know when you get in that running groove all you want to do is run?  I remember that groove & feeling so strong & fit.  It kept my motivation going for all other realms of my life.  So I’m hoping this week I can get back into it.

I’m terrified of next weekend – July 4th weekend – aka another weekend upstate – which is where it all went down hill for me last time, but I just can’t.  I need to take it all one day at a time – or as a wise person told me – 1/2 a day at a time!  (Thanks Jenn@slim-shoppin !)

(So much for a “quick” post. :P)

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Making it a quick one…

  1. Sarah says:

    Don’t beat down on yourself too much 😦 You will get there! And some weeks just suck really 🙂

  2. Yay for big girl panties, Lori!!! 😉 Hang in there. All you need to know is that you did everything right and stayed the course. The scale will catch up! No worries!

  3. biz319 says:

    I am with Marisa – yoohoo for big girl panties!

    And while I’ve been disappointed with my three weeks in a row of -.6, even though I’ve only lost a few pounds this last month, because of the exercise, my size 12 pants not only fit, but are getting a bit loose – the scale isn’t the be all end all 😀

    • Lori says:

      So true Biz! I will say I wasn’t totally & completely disgusted by pictures I saw of myself from a party this weekend. Where normally I am. I hoping this is just one of “those” weeks that will be in the past.

      BTW – ROCK ON on the 10%!!!

  4. I’m glad to learn I’m not the only one who cries in the shower after a disappointing weigh-in. I do understand. My big loss last week was a total one-day fluke and I’m back up above where I was! It is tough, but we have to keep going. I’m so glad your put your “big girl panties” on. I need to do the same!

    • Lori says:

      It was inspirations like you Laura that reminded me this is only temporary. My “funk” continued through the weekend, but it’s Monday – a new week & I’m ready to make a change. Let’s do it together!

  5. Hey, I’m here via Biz’s challenge! Do NOT get down on yourself. You can absolutely do this. And I hear you about in-laws stress. Just remember – be sure that you are making yourself happy, and not focusing on making everyone else happy. If that means delegating food making to someone else, or taking a few hours to yourself to read or walk or eat food that YOU want to eat, that is ok! You want to be healthy and that means that you can say no sometimes.

    • Lori says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by Maggie! You’re so right – sometimes we just have to say No. I have to remember when I’m preparing meals for them that I should treat it the same way I would my Son – one meal for the family. It’s funny, they tell me they don’t like turkey burgers, yet I made them & they ate them – dare I say they even liked them? 😛

  6. Sara says:

    ::hugs:: friend! It’s so true, one day – or even 1/2 – at a time! I used to get so overwhelmed thinking about the 100 pounds I need to lose. I still think about it sometimes but then I remember right now my goal is XYZ and it’s so much smaller than 100. Sometimes weeks do suck but just keep with it. Know that just because you have an up week doesn’t mean it’s over. Did you weigh-in this week yet? I weighed-in last night and the topic for the week was perfect for those who get to do the fun BBQs or go out of town for the 4th—my husband and I are boring and have none of that going on and I’m kinda ticked about it! If you want I’ll be your text message buddy 🙂 You have my email, let’s chat if you need to, okay?! Pick a small goal and focus on that and just keep that in mind. Do you have a reward for a goal of yours? I have a list of goals but I haven’t picked out the rewards just yet–need to get on that!

    • Lori says:

      Hi Sara! How was your vacation?! Did I miss an update?
      You know – it’s been on my “Blog to-do list” that I need to create a section for my goals & rewards! I think once I get my “new plan” in action I’ll be able to make better goals for myself.

Leave a Reply

