WI today & signed up for 2nd 5k of the summer!

WI today was a good one – down 0.7.  Finally it’s going in the right direction!  🙂  I’m in the midst of starting my “new plan” & am very excited.  I will share once I get my thoughts together!

GREAT NEWS!  I signed up for my 2nd 5k of the summer!  I’m happy to say I will successfully complete one part of my 3 part Biz’s 101 Days of Summer Challenge!  This 5k is going to be a special one – On Sunday, August 7th, I will follow in the footsteps of the New York Yankees as a part of the third annual Damon Runyon 5k at Yankee Stadium – a unique fundraising run/walk that uses the Stadium as its course.  I’ll get to explore the concourses and ramps, climb stairs between levels and take my own victory laps around the warning track that circles the field. 

I will be running in memory of my Mom who passed away from stage 4 colon cancer in 2001.

My teammate (The Pink Links) Lindsay will be running in honor of her Stepfather, Dino.

100% of the money I raise will be used by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation to fund innovative research by today’s most brilliant young scientists, who are racing to find the causes and cures for all types of cancer.

Please make a donation that supports my run/walk.

You can choose the amount you want to give – all donations are gratefully received!

Thank you for your support!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WI today & signed up for 2nd 5k of the summer!

  1. biz319 says:

    I didn’t realize your Mom passed away from colon cancer – luckily my husbands cancer was caught and after surgical removal, no chemo was necessary! His surgery wounds are all healed and he’s about 80% back to normal – not bad since his surgery was in February!

    Off to make a donation! I still need to sign up for a run – I need to do two as well!

    • Lori says:

      Yeah, I still don’t understand how my Mom’s wasn’t caught until she reached stage 4 – it’s a sore spot for me. She suffered with Ulcerative Colitis for years – always in & out of the hospital, always at the doctor’s, tons of tests including colonoscopies – multiple! What it took for them to find it was her going in for surgery for a colostomy bag. When they opened her up they saw it was everywhere – lymph nodes & all. You can’t tell me they couldn’t see this with all her endless tests & doctor’s appts – I have to do deep breathing exercises to get me through not wanting to strangle the doctors, but I know it wouldn’t bring her back.

      I love hearing success stories for those with colon cancer. Big hugs to you & Tony!

  2. biz319 says:

    Okay, I submitted my credit card info, but it said it wasn’t accepted, which is weird because there is plenty of money in that account – so I used my other credit card – now it says my bank accepted the first payment – so you may get more $$ from me – let me know if it went through when you get a chance!

  3. AR says:

    Good luck to you and your teammates. I’m sure your mother will be smiling and cheering for you.

    My family will be going on vacation in a few weeks and we signed up to run a 5k while there. I’m getting lots of 5k vacation spots ideas.

    • Lori says:

      Thank you AR! I hope my Mom can still see me & is proud!

      Wow – a 5k on vacation – that may have to be a new goal for myself! What a great idea!

  4. Pingback: Your Account Has Been Cancelled…. | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

