Fiberlicious Bean Salad

Yeah – I used that name yesterday & I think I’m sticking with it.  😀

I’m the type of person that tends to throw whatever I have on hand in a bowl & see what comes out.  I did this over the weekend for a bean salad to enjoy with my lunch this week.  As I’ve mentioned a billion couple of times that my nutritionist would like me to eat between 25-35 grams of fiber a day based on my family’s medical history.  I always thought I ate a lot of fiber….but was shocked I wasn’t coming near those numbers.  I “normally” am around 18 grams unless I pay attention to those target numbers.  So with that came the birth of the Fiberlicious Bean Salad.

Fiberlicious Bean Salad

(Makes 6 – 1 cup servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Chick Peas
  • 1 can Kidney Beans
  • 1 can Black Beans
  • 1/4 cup Red Onion, chopped
  • 3 small Bell Peppers, I used baby red, orange & yellow so it’s pretty – 😀
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 6 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp Garlic Powder
  • dash of Black Pepper

Directions:

Drain, rinse & drain again the canned beans.  Chop red onion, bell peppers & add to beans.  Add olive oil, apple cider vinegar, garlic powder & black pepper.  Mix & chill overnight in refrigerator. 

Tips:

I know – what tips for such a simple thing.  😛

The big thing here is to drain, rinse & drain again the canned beans.  Especially if you’re like me & want/need to watch your sodium.  Eventually I’d like to make this with using dried beans.

Make sure you keep it refrigerated overnight – The longer it sits the longer the beans & peppers will soak up the flavors.  Yummo!

Add more veggies!  If I had cukes on hand I would have thrown them in too.

Nutritional Info:

221 Calories, 36 Carbs, 12 Protein, 12 Fiber

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fiberlicious Bean Salad

  1. Sarah says:

    I could use that right now 😀 Yum!! That would also dehydrate well (minus the oil) for backpacking/hiking meals!

  2. Sara says:

    That looks so good! I totally agree, rinse and drain those puppies because the sodium is killer. We actually buy low-sodium or no-sodium if it’s available–do you ever see those? I’ve never used dried beans before so if you get to it before I do, I’d love to hear how your experience goes! 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Look up on how to cook beans in a slow cooker! The beans are really great tasting that way – and they freeze well! I do about 1 3/4 cups or so in each bag to equal a can. And yeah, the lower sodium canned ones are way better, you don’t miss the salt. Sometimes if I can get Eden brand on sale via Amazon I buy theirs, they have some very low sodium ones.

  4. Lori says:

    Slow cooker beans…that’s what I need to do! What a difference that is going to make in the sodium count! I don’t know why I’ve always been scared of cooking with dry beans….?

  5. Sarah says:

    I take my beans and put them on a large cookie sheet so I can make sure there are no sticks, twigs or gravel. What used to turn me off was doing that but what I have found is that most bags of beans now are really clean. Bulk bin beans though it is open season! So stick to the bags and you won’t have any issues. Also…the slow cooker method really gets rid of the “beany smell” and a lot of the er….other issue that dry beans can cause 😉

Leave a Reply

