Annual physical time…

On Friday I have an appointment for my annual physical.  If you’re not new to “my story” you know I had Gestational Diabetes when I was pregnant with Natie.  You also know that a year ago I noticed my random blood sugar testing numbers were not what I wanted them to be so I made an appointment to get tested.  The results – all was fine except I was Prediabetic. 

Source – WebMD

Prediabetes is a term used when a person’s blood sugar (glucose) level is above normal but below a level that indicates diabetes. Prediabetes has no symptoms. It can only be diagnosed with a blood glucose test.

Prediabetes may be called impaired glucose tolerance or impaired fasting glucose, depending on the test used to diagnose it.

People who are overweight or physically inactive are at risk for prediabetes. Other things that increase risk include:

  • Family history of diabetes.
  • High cholesterol.
  • African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic, Native American, or Pacific Islander ethnicity.
  • History of gestational diabetes. This is a type of diabetes that develops during pregnancy. Delivering a baby that weighed more than 9 pounds is also a risk.
  • Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS), a hormone imbalance that interferes with normal ovulation.
  • Metabolic syndrome, a cluster of conditions related to the body’s metabolism. These conditions include excess body fat (particularly abdominal obesity); elevated triglycerides, blood pressure, and blood sugar; and low HDL cholesterol (the “good” cholesterol).

Some people with prediabetes go on to develop type 2 diabetes later in life. And recent studies show that prediabetes increases the risk of heart disease. People with prediabetes may be able to prevent type 2 diabetes by losing weight, eating a healthy diet, and exercising regularly.

Source: Photos.com

Just what I feared.  I was overweight (CHECK), had GD (CHECK), had a Father with Type 2 diabetes (CHECK).  It was obvious – lose the damn weight or else.  From there I followed the old Weight Watchers plan & started the C25K program & lost some weight.  I felt great.  Shortly after – not sure what happened -life – probably more excuses, but I just stopped.  I think I gained back all that I lost.  Then a few months later – WW starts their new plan – PointsPlus & I figure it’s the new motivation I need.  (Do you look for motivation in just about everything too?)  About a week into it I get severely sick with strep throat – couldn’t eat for drink for a good week plus – 12 lbs down.  Go me! (ummm…)  I somehow managed to keep all but 5 lbs off.  Fast forward a FEW MONTHS & I was able to lose a little more than those same 5 lbs.  I realized once again WW wasn’t for me.  Now starts my new journey.

I recently started checking my Fasting Blood Sugars again (remember when I was going to post them daily…umm…another fail on my part.)  I’m noticing my numbers are still in the prediabetic range.  I can’t expect them to be any different being I’m still “overweight”, but I would have thought that the exercising & food choices I have made through this past year would have made a difference.  I know I have a long journey ahead, but sometimes I find it so hard to keep my head high & want results now.  Hey – I’m human…

So as I approach my appointment I think about the blood tests, then the results.  I have to remind myself that I’ve come a long way from last year & even though I still have a long way to go.  I’m doing the best I can.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annual physical time…

  1. Lindsay B says:

    Dont get discouraged Lori. You are taking all the right steps and that will pay off in the long run 🙂 XOXO

  2. Sarah says:

    You are doing good in one way – you know you have to change! Have you looked into taking supplements such as flaxseed oil and more Omega-3’s? Oddly enough a diet rich in nuts can help, so can beans, etc – high fiber, high omega-3 is the key – it can help not only with cholesterol, but with Type 2 diabetes. I know I fear it as well, my Mom had Type 2 so I get tested every 6 months. Loosing the weight isn’t easy but also don’t forget that doing exercise is more important than just loosing weight – so walking daily is better than dropping 20 lbs (well although both are still good together 😉 )I am right there with you!!

Leave a Reply

