Thank you for your support!

This weekend, Sunday to be exact, is my second 5k of the summer (4th of the year, so far).  I’m truly looking forward to it.  At first I was getting nervous because it’s been a while since I’ve been running.  With being sick over vacation my runs or any activity came to a complete stop.  I’m certainly not looking to PR this race – because of the lack of activity lately, but mostly because it’s going to be awesome!  I’ll be running up the ramps & stairs (which will probably have my inhaler making an appearance at some point), plus – hello, it’s Yankee Stadium!  I’ll be running the warning track…I’ll probably be the geek running with her camera taking pictures – who wouldn’t am I right?  Of course I’ll have to get out & find my old snap & shoot camera, because I can’t see myself running around with my Nikon – that would REALLY look silly.  😀  Maybe I’ll leave that with Rich & Natie in the Delta Sky360 suite to get a few shots from overhead…hmmm…

My big reason for this post today was to thank those who supported my team – The Pink Links for this race – the third annual Damon Runyon 5k at Yankee Stadium.  As of Monday they raised more than $550,000 towards cancer research! 

The MVP prize winner raised over $10,000 & is going on a private plane after the race on Sunday to Boston to see the Yanks kick some BoSox butt!  This guy must have some deep pockets – he was the MVP winner for both 2009 & 2010!

With the max 4,000 participants they’re having staggered start times.  The Pink Links won’t be running until noon – I hope the heat & humidity cooperates.  I hope they’ll have the AC on for us? 😀

Check out the route!

The Runyon 5K Route
• START LINE on the 100 level concourse, near Section 120
• Run/walk two laps around the 100 level concourse
• After second lap, near Section 126, turn left at concessions, then take ramp to sub-zero
level
• Run/walk through the sub-zero level
• Exit the sub-zero level between the Bullpen and Monument Park, turn right onto warning
track
• Water stop located at entrance to/exit from warning track
• Run/walk two laps around the warning track that circles the field
• Smile for the cameras – brightroom photographers will line the warning track and
you’ll be featured on the center field video board!
• Exit warning track to the right, return to sub-zero level
• Run/walk back through sub-zero level, then turn left toward right field stairs
• Climb 103 steps to 200 level concourse
• Run/walk the length of the 200 level concourse toward left field stairs (near Section 234)
• Water stop located near Premio stand at Section 217
• Climb 64 steps to 300 level concourse
• Run/walk the length of the 300 level concourse
• Water stop located across from Sections 426/427
• At Section 310, turn right down ramp near Gate 6, then take ramp down to the Great Hall
• Run/walk short distance through Great Hall
(please stay to your right, coursecontinues)
• Turn right up the Great Hall stairs to 200 level concourse
• Climb 55 steps to 200 level concourse
• Run/walk the length of the 200 level concourse toward left field stairs (near Section 234)
• Water stop located near Premio stand at Section 217
• Climb 64 steps to 300 level concourse
• Run/walk the length of the 300 level concourse
• Water stop located across from Sections 426/427
• At Section 310, turn right down ramp near Gate 6, then take ramp down to the Great Hall
• Run/walk short distance through to FINISH LINE in Great Hall (please stay to your left to finish)

 

 

I hope to be armed with lots of pictures – and hopefully one will not include me being carried out on a stretcher!  😛

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you for your support!

  1. biz says:

    That’s so cool – I am so excited for you – it seemed like so far away, didn’t it? Did you ever happen to get my donation?? It showed as a debit, then a credit, twice – so I wasn’t sure if I donated $50 or it didn’t go through at all. 😦

    If it didn’t go through – could you email me the link so I can try again?? mybizzykitchen@gmail.com

    Thanks!

    • Lori says:

      Hey Biz! The donation didn’t go through, don’t worry about this year – get me next year – I have a feeling I’m going to make this an annual event! 🙂

Leave a Reply

