It’s a sad day for my household….

I just got an e-mail that my beloved Dream Dinners (the one & only on Long Island) is closing.  You may remember me mentioning Dream Dinners in the past – where they provide everything you need to assemble delicious dinners from easy-to-follow instructions to fresh, pre-cut ingredients.  I have to honestly say DD made my pregnancy a breeze.  There were times I was nauseous or just didn’t feel like cooking at night & I’d take a meal from the freezer to the oven.  Let’s not forget Natie newborn time – hello Dream Dinners to the rescue!  Since then my load my have lightened, but the convenience & low-cost kept me going month after month.

I’m going to look at the bright side.  I do love cooking.  I kind of miss it.  I’d still prepare a couple regular meals a week, but now I can get back to being creative.  I will say it’s been a LONG time – 27 months to be exact – that I didn’t have Dream Dinners to rely on.  I’m wondering if it’ll be like riding a bike?  Will I get in the same rut cooking the same things week after week just because it’s easy?  Or will I rock out meal planning – this time focusing solely on healthy meals.

Biz, if you’re reading this, expect an e-mail from me for some tips & tricks to get back into the swing of cooking again!  Sometimes I get exhausted just by reading all the stuff she cooks – but some how she manages to make tasty, healthy, and inexpensive meals every day 3 times a day for her family.  She’s my hero! 😀

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a sad day for my household….

  1. Sarah says:

    We used to have 3 competing companies here in town and all of them died in the recession – literally within a couple months. How I would have loved to have had one last year! I so need to get off my rear and do more OAMC and fill my (empty) deep freezer.

  2. biz319 says:

    Aw, thanks for the shout out Lori! We had a similar place in our town but it closed after a year – it was kind of expensive too.

    Well, first thing is that you don’t have to go full metal jacket right off the bat. Maybe start with 1 new recipe a week. Always make your meal plan from your sale flyer, if chicken breasts aren’t on sale, don’t buy it.

    Also try to morph different meals from one ingredient – say one night you roast a whole chicken. You can pull off all the meat and make chicken tacos, then use the carcass to make chicken noodle soup. You can do it! 😀

    • Lori says:

      GREAT tips Biz! I definitely need to start slow. I usually go “balls to the walls” crazy & get myself all flustered. 😀 I’m looking forward to the change.

Leave a Reply

