I’m liking numbers of a different kind…

There’s just something about numbers that I like in the weight loss world.  I am & will always be a daily weigher, but lately I’m looking at the scale differently.  I’m not putting much thought into the scale & what it says.  If my weight isn’t moving I’m focusing on all the good I’m doing – making better choices, more active, move fiber & protein, etc.  It makes the scale not so important anymore.

106479096Lately, I’m addicted to another number…the number on my blood glucose meter.  At my last visit with my Nutritionist, RD we discussed why the scale hasn’t been moving for me.  She reviewed my menus & activities & we had a few options we’re “testing” out.  One is to occasionally spot test my blood sugar levels.  She’s concerned that I might be spiking, which in turns tells my body to hold onto the fat – going into a storing mode vs. burning.  I have to say I’m a bit of a weirdo because this past few days I’ve been checking & I’m really enjoying it.  WHAT?!  You ask…  yeah, I’m the weirdo who enjoys pricking her finger & seeing what the number is going to be based on what I’m eating.  Go figure!  Open-mouthed smile  I forgot I had this same feeling when I had Gestational Diabetes during my pregnancy.  I then recalled losing 5lbs the first month while watching everything I ate, exercising more & keeping control of the kinds of foods I ate – all while testing away.  Maybe that’s been my problem all along?  Maybe it wasn’t necessarily HOW MUCH I ate, but WHAT kind of foods I ate…

Recently I started cleaning out our pantry & refrigerator & started filling it with old & new favorites:

I ate this bread every day when I was pregnant (GD) Eziekel 4:9 Cinnamon Raisin Bread – it’s low glycemic and heavenly! 

My nutritionist also suggest I substitute my regular pasta with Barilla Plus – it’s loaded with protein, fiber & Omega 3’s!

I’m also finding myself eating almonds again.  To be honest, it was the ONLY thing I could eat at night to keep my FBS – Fasting Blood Sugar levels down in a normal range.  I’ve been “experimenting” & guess what – that still holds true.  Ok now, it’s not in the “normal range”, but it’s getting there thanks to these babies…  Emerald Cinnamon & Cocoa Roasted Nuts.

cinn roast almEmerald-Cocoa-Roast-Almonds-md

 

Please let me know if there are any other favorites you have that help keep your blood sugar levels down.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

