Tried out a new easy recipe…

For Rich’s birthday every year he asks for Chicken Parm.  Now I love chicken parm, but I hate the frying of the chicken.  I don’t know what it is, but pan frying meats & I just do not get along.  Especially since the one year I pan fried pork chops & had the fire department at the house – long story. Embarrassed smile So this year for Rich’s birthday I was determined to find a baked version that would still give us that yummy crispy coating we all know and love on chicken parm.  I went right over to Skinny Taste and boy did I make the right decision! 

006

Baked Chicken Parmesan
Gina’s Weight Watcher Recipes
Servings: 8 • Serving Size: 1 piece
Calories: 224.5 • Fat: 8.6 g • Protein: 25.1 g • Carb: 14.2 g • Fiber: 1.3 g

Ingredients:

  • 4 (8 oz) chicken breast halves, sliced in half
  • 3/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs (I used 4C whole wheat)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup reduced fat mozzarella cheese (I used Sargento)
  • 1 cup marinara or Filetto di Pomodoro
  • cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450°. Spray a large baking sheet lightly with spray.

Combine breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese in a bowl. Melt the butter in another bowl. Lightly brush the butter onto the chicken, then dip into breadcrumb mixture.  Place on baking sheet and repeat with the remaining chicken.

Lightly spray a little more cooking oil on top and bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Turn chicken over, bake another 5 minutes. Remove from oven, spoon sauce over chicken and top with shredded cheese. Bake 5 more minutes or until cheese is melted.

That’s it – couldn’t have been any easier!  I have to honestly say I’m NEVER going to pan fry our chicken cutlets anymore.  What else can I say, but Gina did it again! 

015

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tried out a new easy recipe…

  1. Sara says:

    That looks really good! I hate pan frying also, makes such a mess and smells up the house. Happy Birthday to Rich!

  2. susan says:

    I do not fry meats either, I had a small fire too. Was able to put it out!

    If I do fry, I use an electric fry pan.
    cleanup is a bother.

  3. Looks delicious! I’ve tried lots of recipes from that website and they’re always great.

  4. biz319 says:

    While I love a good pan fry (the secret is having the oil at the right temp) your version looks amazing. I have a couple of Gina’s recipes on tap for this week too – I made a version of her pasta fagioli soup for my lunch today – 2 cup serving is only 6 points so I have room for some bread! 😀

Leave a Reply

