I feel the Earth move…

under my feet…  Yeah, thanks to my friends on Facebook, Carole King has been playing in my head all day long.  I think it had something to do with the 5.8 earthquake in Virginia today that was felt all along the East coast…including my cubical.  Yeah, definitely something I thought I’d never feel in my lifetime.  It’s funny, I actually thought my sugar was crashing or something.  I got dizzy & nauseous & then I heard my co-worker/friend/running partner, Lindsay on the phone with a potential client saying “everything is moving?!”  She hung up & it continued.  A couple of us felt like we were still moving long after it stopped.  Wild.  Of course, I called Rich right away & he didn’t feel a thing, though everyone else besides one other person at his job felt it. 

Besides the crazy afternoon it was relatively a great day.  I woke up early & got outside for a run.  WOW!  The weather was BEAUTIFUL!  It felt like a gorgeous fall morning.  (read: obsessed with fall)  I was actually chilly – which I prefer to hot as hell & humid for any outdoor activity – ESPECIALLY running!  As odd as it sounds, I’m going back to basics – starting the c25k program again.  I just need to get my stamina up.  I’m not sure if it’s the asthma or just plain laziness lately, but running has taken a back seat to walking or any other type of activity.  It was a good run.  Definitely a breeze from last year when I first did it.  I also find that following a program like this keeps me running & is a good schedule for me to keep.

With respects to 5k’s, I don’t have any races lined up.  I have 4 in my sights, but I have a feeling only 2 will happen.  Hey that’s better than none, right?!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I feel the Earth move…

  1. Sara says:

    There was a 5.3 earthquake in Southern Colorado last night and then about six or so small ones also in the same area, but I didn’t feel a thing since it was so far away down by the New Mexico/Colorado border. When I was on Twitter and heard about the east coast I thought it was so strange! Plus with the hurricane coming, you guys are having a weird week.

    Way to go on that run this morning! It’s been in the high 50’s here in the mornings and I SHOULD go, but I can never seem to get my butt out of bed. If I’m tired at all, which is always, then I just can never seem to do it. I love fall also, my kind of season! 🙂

  2. I felt it as well, but my husband didn’t at all. He didn’t even know about it until later in the day. Weird. I just started the C25K yesterday.

Leave a Reply

