Irene

Yesterday was a perfect example WEATHER wise – of the quote “The calm before the storm”.  It had to be the most beautiful day of the summer.  BUT…you certainly didn’t feel calm if you went to get gas – waiting in line for quite some time.  The one by us was out of 87 & 89 grade by 9pm last night.  My friend posted on her Facebook status that people were camping out at the local Lowes for generators.  We went to the grocery store yesterday to pick up some odds & ends should we lose power & this is what we found….

IMG_20110826_164639IMG_20110826_164855IMG_20110826_165919IMG_20110826_170109

With hearing all these mandatory evacuations in the city, boroughs, here on the island both Nassau & Suffolk County is getting my nerves up a bit.  With the mandatory evacuations we’ve got a house full of people coming today.  Early in the week with just the threat of the storm I told my in-laws to make their way over on Saturday.  At that time I didn’t think it was a good idea for them to be alone, now they’re under mandatory evacuation orders.  My Cousin & her family have been away on vacation all week so thankfully she came home yesterday & I reached her to head on over.  If need be our friends that are in the area are more than welcome to join us.  My FIL asked where is everyone going to stay.  I said “Who cares, we’ll figure it out.  They need to get out & we’ll find space.”

It’s sad, but when we were looking for a house I took storms into consideration & chose the middle of the island.  I guess my fear came in handy as they’re even evacuating parts of the north shore too.

Ok, off to burn off this nervous energy…

Stay safe everyone!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irene

  1. biz319 says:

    That is so crazy how empty the shelves are! Glad you were able to take family in and hopefully it didn’t hit your neck of the woods too bad – hugs!

Leave a Reply

