I’m alive…

So Irene was interesting.  Thankfully the only “damage” we suffered was my neighbors tree landing on our shed & busting that open.  Lots of branches & leaves all over too.  We live in a very tree filled area, so we experienced a full four days without power.  That really sucked.  There were trees down in our neighborhood at every house.  It was sad, because one of the things I love about the area I’m in is the trees & tree lined streets.  Thankfully some were spared.

I find that I like routine, so when something like no power messes with my routine I’m not the happiest person to be around.  Thankfully I have an understanding boss that let me go into work in jeans, t-shirt & a baseball cap for a few days.  He also thankfully allowed me to take a good part of the day on Monday to move what food I could from our fridge & freezer into the fridge & freezer at work.  Talk about a lifesaver!  I would have died throwing out all that food if I hadn’t had that option.  I’m also extremely thankful for my friends Kim & Brian who let Natie come over to take a bath.  Poor little guy cried for what seemed forever because he couldn’t take a bath one night.  This kid loves his baths what can I say! Open-mouthed smile

Once the power came back on I found myself overwhelmed with…well…power!  Between the lights, hot water, working fridge & freezer I was on overload & didn’t know where to turn.

In the time leading up to & during the hurricane I confirmed I’m an emotional eater.  If anyone lives in the NY area they know the days leading up were intense.  From NYC shutting down the transit system to mandatory evacuations in NYC & LI…you couldn’t help but panic and wonder WTH were we in for?  I apparently found this as a reason to say “F… It!” and eat whatever & whenever I wanted.  myfitnesspal.com?  Smile with tongue out pbbblllllttttt……..  Well, apparently this was my MIL’s excuse too because we went shopping & picked up pigs in a blanket, pizza pockets, chips & dip, and we washed it down with margaritas.  I guess we figured Irene wasn’t going to take us down without us being bloated with sodium overload & a little tipsy on tequila too!  BUT…it didn’t stop there.  Then came the, “I’m angry my power is out” so I can eat Chinese takeout, pizza, random things in my pantry like walnuts mixed with semi-sweet chocolate chips.  The worst best part about it was all the time I was stuffing my face I was hearing this voice inside say “Why?  Why are you doing this?  You clearly know it’s not right & you don’t even want it, so why are you doing this?”  It was like the angel & devil on my shoulders were arguing & I kept stuffing my face listening to the conversation.

I’m thankful that we do have power.  There are still many without –over a week.  I don’t know how they’re staying sane – or if they even are.

One of the things that kept me “sane” during the power outage was knowing it was just a power outage.  I still had my family & our home.  Unfortunately there are so many people that lost everything.  My heart aches for all those in Greene County (my upstate neighboring county) that lost everything.  Irene literally wiped out towns.  So bad that they might not be able to rebuild.  All these families homeless.  All these business gone.  Not to mention those areas of Vermont – our favorite place to visit, was hit so hard that they claimed this was the worst flooding this century.  You just don’t think of hurricane’s hitting areas like upstate NY & VT as bad as they did.  You think of the damage being done on the shore lines.  The floods these areas sustained were absolutely unreal causing billions of dollars worth of damage – BILLIONS!

source

Please check out the Facebook page for info on Hurricane Irene – Save the Catskills & help my neighbors any way you can, whether it’s a $5 financial donation or a box of clothes or even toiletries – they need anything they can get right now.  Prayers are always welcome too!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m alive…

  1. Sarah says:

    Glad to hear you are OK. So understand the eating and stress though 😦 I think it is normal though to react that way so don’t beat yourself up!

  2. Sara says:

    So scary! I’ve never been through a hurricane but I have witnessed the destruction of tornadoes. My grandparent’s farm was partially whipped out. But tornadoes don’t cause flooding! I’m so glad you guys are alright but I cannot imagine dealing with no power for so long, I’ve never had to do that before, but then also dealing with losing my home and everything else in town like some people–oh my goodness. And YES, I would be in the same emotional eating boat and I have been experiencing the angel/devil on my shoulder situations lately about eating what I want and knowing i shouldn’t and seeing the scale go back up. UGH Hang in there!

  3. biz319 says:

    So glad you are alive and well (and I REALLY need to figure out how to add blogs to Google Reader so I know when a new post is up!).

    Yep, we lost all of our deep freeze stuff in July, sucked ass – I still haven’t filled it up yet so its unplugged – so sad.

    Hey, you can’t change what you did, just move forward and don’t look back! 😀 And now I want a pig in a blanket. 😀

  4. Pingback: Yada…Yada…Yada… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

