New Year…New You, right?

I’m sure that’s what we’re all hoping for – a new start with the new year.  I’m never one for New Year’s Resolutions.  I always felt like I was setting myself up for failure when I made a resolution.

This year, I’m planning on making some obtainable goals.  One of them is to blog more!  I really love blogging.  I even plan posts out in my head during the day, but once I get home I’m caught up on my never ending list of things to do.  So, tonight, while I have dinner cooking I figured I’d just start typing.  No need for a 2 hour post with crazy pics – just an update on me & my life!

First – my weigh in was last week.  I lost 0.2!!!  I have to say I was dancing on the scale.  Really, dancing on the scale, hips moving, arms raised.  Not quite sure I’d win any dancing competitions with my moves, but it felt great!

That loss, though very small was BIG in my mind.  Especially being as soon as I got home we were heading upstate – aka free for all in the food department in my mind most of the time.  I somehow managed to not buy tons of Stewart’s ice cream and other goodies that I tend to overload on when I’m there.  Don’t get me wrong, there was some swaying “to the other side”, but I was very happy with most of my meals & control.  Hey, it’s a step in the right direction!!!

New Year’s Eve is big to a lot of people, but it’s certainly not a favorite of mine.  Honestly, I’m not quite sure why.  Maybe it’s because I hate leaving the previous year/time behind…even if it was bad, or maybe it’s because I’m exhausted by 9pm & can’t wait to get to bed.  Yeah, that’s usually it!  That’s why the past couple of years I’ve barely made it to 9pm & I’m fast asleep in my bed.  Thankfully Rich is the same way, so we both crash snuggle in bed.

One of my other goals feels a bit unobtainable right now, but I’m going to keep it & continue to dream about it – it’s to reach goal.  I mean…aren’t we suppose to dream big?  I know to do this I need to be on plan 110% in both eating & exercise, but it’s something I really need to do for my health & happiness.

My last goal of the year is to be blessed with another child.  I’ve always imagined my life with 2 or 3 children.  This past year has been tough with Natie’s terrible two’s but my God, he’s been the most amazing thing in my life so far!  I seriously, wholeheartedly can’t even imagine my life without him.  With that in mind, my weight must go down.  I’d prefer not to have Gestational Diabetes again, and to add more pounds to my already full load to shed…not to mention needing more energy!  I hit 36 this year and even though women are having children into their 40’s you always have doctors putting this fear in your minds once you hit 35.  With that I need to make sure I can do all I CAN do to make less problems for myself & the pregnancy I pray to have.

I think not eating dinner at 8pm might be something I need to work on.  As I’m ready to wrap up this post & enjoy my dinner for tonight – homemade turkey soup from this weekend’s leftover turkey.  I freakin’ love this soup.  I never understood using chicken or turkey broth when you get it from the chicken or turkey, but that’s a topic for another day!043

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Year…New You, right?

  1. Sarah says:

    Yes! Blog more 🙂 And yum on the soup.
    Being “older” when pregnant is you get more intense health care – which isn’t a bad thing. Though I laugh every time I see “elderly pregnancy” on my paperwork. Jeez, I am only 38!! I think if I had waited for Walker to hit 2 I might not have been so crazy to go for #3 😉 But it is worth it! I hope you get there!

    • Lori says:

      You know, that’s the one thing I liked about having GD was the more frequent visits & sonos of my little guy!

      I’d die if I saw “elderly pregnancy” on my paperwork. Though, now with your warning, I’ll be prepared and probably LOL too! 😀

  2. I was 38 years old when I had my seventh and last child. I hated being labeled as “advanced maternal age”. Pfffllllltttt The pregnancy was one of my easiest, but it left me with postpartum health issues. I would do it again.

    Hope the new year is a happy and healthy one!

    • Lori says:

      Seventh…wow! I sometimes wonder if I can handle two & my little guy is an angel most of the time. (eh hem….)
      “Advanced maternal age”… again…what is with these doctors!
      I’m praying this is our year for everything!

  3. biz319 says:

    I just got friend requested on facebook by a guy I went to school with that I knew all the way from kindergarten through high school. I accepted his request and was shocked that he and his wife have a 2 year old and an 8 month old – we are going to be 44 this year too! In fact, I’d say a lot of my high school friends have children under the age of 5 – when I tell them that Hannah is almost 20 they can’t wrap their brain around it!

    • Lori says:

      I’m seeing & hearing this more & more.
      I even have friends from HS with kids who are teenagers & I think…huh? Boy I’m late being my guy just turned two!
      It does make me feel better…but also makes me realize I need to get in shape because I’m tired too often! :p

Leave a Reply

