Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

fsand (source)

I finally got around to watching this documentary on Netflix. It’s been in my instant queue for what seems like forever. (Confession: I’m a bit of a Netflix documentary junkie!)  If you’re not familiar with it, it’s about a Australian man, Joe Cross, who is overweight, has a horrible autoimmune disease & is on all kinds of medication.  He goes on a 60 day, doctor monitored juice fast while touring America.

There is so much more to the story, like the amazing story about Phil Staples, but I’ll save it for you if you haven’t seen it. I really enjoyed it!

While Joe toured America he was meeting tons of people & told them what he was doing. Sadly, I found so many people saying – “I’m going to eat what I want. At least I’ll die happy.” Really? Like, really? Are you truly happy? Don’t get me wrong, I think I found myself saying that at some point or another in my life, but I was just trying to convince myself of that. I know, I’m truly at my happiest when I’m in control. In control of my eating, in control of my health. There is nothing happy about being 35 years old & “prediabetic”. There’s nothing happy about avoiding situations like running into childhood friends when I go home because I’m ashamed of how I look due to the weight I’ve put on. There’s nothing happy about not being able to keep up with my 2 year old Son.

When will America wake up & realize that overindulging in crap isn’t making us happy?

Ok, I’ll get off my soapbox.  I’m off to dream of winning the lottery so I can afford a Breville juicer…  (Hey Joe, since you also live in NY – let me know when we can meet so I can borrow a juicer Open-mouthed smile)

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

  1. Sarah says:

    Yeah, I hear you! In 2006 my Neurologist told me to quit consuming artificial coloring after having debilitating vertigo migraines for a year. Since then I have avoided it 99%. And yeah, it turned my life around. I can say that I’d rather not have crap food than ever have one of those nasty bouts of sickness again (they make me sick for 24 hours with a migraine hangover for days after – they are the worst migraines I have ever had).
    You can do it though! It isn’t easy and we get side tracked (I know it has been hard for me to put weight on yet again with this baby – right when I had lost a bunch and I was feeling awesome). You will get there Lori!!

    • Lori says:

      It’s such an eye opener. I really would like to eventually get down the path of eating much cleaner, but I know myself & I need to focus on one thing at a time.

      Hey, SuperSize Me (cough, another documentary!) has kept me away from McD’s, BK, Taco Bell, Wendy’s, KFC, etc. for 7 years this month.

  2. biz319 says:

    My sister was just telling me about that movie! I’ll have to check it out – although I have to say – the guy who gave me the Zero Scale keeps sending me emails telling me that if I just stuck with a strictly Paleo diet for 21 days, my diabetes will be cured. I am like, “my pancreas doesn’t work anymore so I don’t think that staying away from whole grains for 21 days is gonna make it start producing insulin again.

    I agree – when I am in control I am the happiest! 😀 Hugs!

    • Lori says:

      Yeah, can’t cure Type 1 diabetes…that’s what you have, right? I guess he didn’t do his research! 😛
      Definitely check out the movie. It’s great. The story about Phil is amazing too!
      I’m such a sucker for documentaries lately.

  3. SaraSara says:

    I love documentaries too, I just don’t see many of them. Over Christmas on Hulu I watched one about a guy who became Santa and went to Santa school and all that stuff. It was so heart warming!

    You may notice I have a new blog—it’s about my weight loss journey and I just started the blog-yesterday. I’ll keep posting at Wrapped in Happiness too, but My Size: Healthy will be my main focus.

  4. Lola says:

    I watched this documentary and it is awesome. I also bought myself a juicer (Breville brand ~$170)….I LOVE IT. And here’s what else, I had started having some high blood pressure issues and making juices every day has helped me so much. I bought my brother one for Christmas (Breville but slightly smaller ~$99)..and he loves it too. Its definitely worth the investment.

    • Lori says:

      Oh wow…I need to do more research on the Breville’s. The ones I saw were insanely expensive. Must do more research!
      GREAT news on your BP issues! Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

  5. Karen says:

    When you travel outside our country, you see people that look healthy, eat right, walk everywhere and are happy. People in our country really need to wake up.

  6. Hi! I’m Biz’s sister Jenn. I have watched that movie 4 times now! It’s actually free on HULU.com

    I have a crappy juicer, but have started my day with a smoothie for breakfast instead of food.

    I’ll put 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup orange juice a carrot, a handful or mango chunks, a few leaves of kale, fresh cranberries (which I store in my freezer) today I put kiwi, chia seeds, and just whirl it all together until it’s smooth. It’s @ 300 calories, but it’s kept me full until lunch

    • *For the smoothie – I just used my blender 🙂

    • Lori says:

      I LOVE smoothies! The last time I put kale in my blender my smoothie ended up chunky…well, not so much chunky, but more like little bits of kale. I found myself chewing while drinking & I think the texture thing sent me over the edge. HA!:D
      Did that happen in your blender? If not, then I might need a more powerful blender!

Leave a Reply

