Weekend update…

At Friday’s WI I wasn’t scale jigging.  I ended up gaining 0.6 lbs.  Honestly it’s not that much at all but based on how “on” I was I was a little disappointed.  BUT, I got over it pretty quickly.  I kept thinking on how awesome I felt tracking everything & being in control.  I’ve learned that the scale does catch up, so I should be seeing my efforts paying off soon.

Saturday was a great day.  My Cousin came over & we did our Trader Joe’s & Whole Foods run.  They’re across the street from each other so it makes it very convenient to do both!  Oddly enough, if you’re at TJ’s then head over to WF’s you end up seeing the same people.  Neither are far from me, but they’re in the opposite direction of where my daily life takes place, so I can’t make it a weekly trip.  I had a huge piece of paper filled with ingredients for my weekend of cooking including some staples & Natie faves!  After we got home we made a delicious dinner of TJ’s Maryland Crabcakes, roasted Brussel spouts & some Barilla Plus angel hair pasta.  Oh yeah, wine too!  Delish! 

Sunday was filled with cooking!  I had 4 recipes lined up, but my headache from the wine the night before seemed to take over & I only managed to crank out two.  Today I’ll review a DELICIOUS low fat granola bar recipe I got from PreventionRD.com.  Nicole posted this recipe last week & when I saw it I knew I needed to try it as is.  There were no modifications made to this recipe as I didn’t think any were needed and boy was I right!  I almost substituted walnuts for the pecans, but thankfully I kept it as pecans because they taste fabulous!

This was also a perfect excuse to use the delicious cinnamon my friend Kim brought me back from her trip to Lancaster, PA. 

Low-Fat Granola Bars with Banana, Cranberries & Pecans from PreventionRD

007

Ingredients:

3 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
3/4 cup pecans, roughly chopped
3 large, ripe bananas
2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
3/4 cup dried cranberries
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 tbsp ground flax seed (or flax meal)
1/2 tsp salt

005

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Line a 9- by 13-inch baking sheet with parchment paper, with about 1 inch of parchment paper overlapping the sides.

Spread out the oats and chopped pecans on a baking sheet. Place in the oven until they are lightly toasted, stirring occasionally, about 10 minutes.

In a medium bowl, mash the bananas with the back of a fork. Stir in applesauce until combined.

Transfer the oats and pecans to a large bowl and stir in dried cranberries, ground flax seed (flax meal), cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.

Stir the banana mixture into the oat mixture until well combined and starting to clump together. Transfer to the prepared baking dish and press down evenly.

Bake until the bars are golden brown and starting to separate from sides of the pan, about 30 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes.

Use the parchment paper to lift the bars out of the pan. Let cool to room temperature, then cut into 15 bars. Serve or store in an airtight container.

She mentions they will last a few days in an airtight container or up to 3 months in the freezer. 

012

There’s no doubt in my mind you won’t think these are delicious and a perfect alternative to any kind of granola bar you can buy in a store.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekend update…

  1. Sara says:

    I’m glad you aren’t beating yourself up with the small up from last week. You’re right, it’s not much, and sometimes our bodies just don’t respond but then on a week you don’t think you did as well the body gives you a two pound weight loss! Weird, right?! But your trip to TJ’s (wish we had one even in the state!) and Whole Foods sounds nice and so does that dinner 🙂 The granola bars sound delicious though, I love granola. Do you happen to have any nutrition info from the original recipe?

    • Lori says:

      Hi Sara,

      Check out the link to the recipe – it’ll take you to PreventionRD.com’s post of that recipe. She has the NI info listed in her post. They’re soooo good! I brought one into work for a snack today. Can’t wait.

  2. Nicole, RD says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the granola bars! Great photos, too..especially the last one 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Hah, same here – TJ’s sits across from PCC, a local version of Whole Foods. 😉 Always the same crowd!

  4. kp says:

    Great job not letting the scale mess up your weekend. Granola bars look awesome! Yum!

  5. biz319 says:

    Sorry you gained the .6 that I lost – that wasn’t very nice of me! 😀

    I still have the original granola bars on my list – I didn’t have bananas when I wanted to make them. I made Nicole’s buffalo chicken chowder yesterday and had it for my lunch today – so fricken good! 😀

  6. Laura Jane says:

    I had a gain this week as well even though I was on track. You have a great perspective. The scale will catch up.

  7. Pingback: Recipe Review ~ Stuffed Cabbage Casserole | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

