Recipe Review ~ Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

Recently Skinnytaste.com posted a recipe for Stuffed Cabbage Casserole & I knew I had to try it!  I gathered the ingredients & planned to make it a couple of weeks ago, but silly me I thought I had brown rice in the pantry…but I didn’t.  I actually tore apart my pantry swearing it was there.  I ended up taking up so much time organizing my pantry that I had no time left to run to the store, get the rice & come back & cook before our day filled with activities began.  I will say I do smile when going in the pantry now – Rich does too!

So this weekend during my jaunt to Trader Joe’s & Whole Foods I made sure to pick up some brown rice.  I also made sure to make this on Sunday because at this point I was salivating just wanting to try it!

I made some simple modifications to Skinnytaste’s recipe.  I used ground turkey instead of ground beef.  I’m not sure what it is lately, but I gravitate towards ground turkey more & more each day.  I also used a basic paprika because I didn’t have sweet Hungarian paprika.  Also, if you are interested in trying this without the cheese Skinnytaste gives all the nutritional info.  She recommended the cheese version & I agree!  Besides who can turn down cheese?  Really….WHO?

The result…it’s FANTASTIC!  I will say it was time consuming so if you’re a working Mom this is a weekend recipe not a weeknight recipe.

Without further ado… the yummy….in your tummy….

Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

recipe adapted from Skinnytaste.com

007

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 large onion, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp finely minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 heads green cabbage, coarsely chopped
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) petite dice tomatoes with juice
  • 1 can (15 oz.) tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 2 cups low-fat mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a large glass casserole dish with non-stick spray.

Heat a large frying pan on medium heat; add ground turkey and cook until it’s browned and cooked through, breaking it apart as it cooks. Remove ground turkey and set aside.

In the same pan, add 1 tsp olive oil and the chopped onion.  Cook over medium heat until the onion is translucent and starting to brown, about 5 minutes. Add the minced garlic, dried thyme, and paprika and cook about 2 minutes more. Then add the diced tomatoes with juice, tomato sauce, and ground turkey. Add water to the pan. Simmer until it’s hot and slightly thickened, about 15-20 minutes.

While it simmers, cut cabbage in half, cut out the core, and remove any wilted outer leaves; chop the cabbage coarsely into 1 inch pieces.

Heat remaining olive oil in a large frying pan or Dutch oven; add the cabbage and cook over medium-high heat until the cabbage is wilted and about half cooked, turning it over several times so it all wilts and cooks. Season with salt and fresh-ground black pepper.

(I’ve got to be honest…I found it easier to just microwave/steam the cabbage as I didn’t have a pot big enough for the cabbage…well, at least not one that wasn’t being used.)

When the meat and tomato sauce mixture has cooked and thickened a bit, stir in the 2 cups of cooked rice and gently combine.

Spray casserole dish with non-stick spray and the layer half the cabbage, half the meat mixture, remaining cabbage, and remaining meat mixture. Cover tightly with foil and bake 40 minutes, or until the mixture is just starting to bubble on the edges.

Remove foil and sprinkle on cheese.  Bake uncovered an additional 20 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and starting to slightly brown.

Serves 10.  Based on the nutritional information on the ingredients I used this recipe came out to 6 pointsplus per serving.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recipe Review ~ Stuffed Cabbage Casserole

  1. I am not usually a cabbage fan, but this looks really good, Lori! Gina has some rockin’ recipes for sure!

  2. Sara says:

    I love cabbage 🙂 Glushkies (or however you spell it) aka cabbage rolls is a German meal my mom made—my dad’s side of the family is German. Remember the bierocks I told you about–more cabbage! This recipe looks delicious and I must have missed the email in my inbox because I also get Skinnytaste’s posts that way. Have you tried freezing some? Does it hold up well?

    • Lori says:

      Funny thing is Sara…I didn’t have any left to freeze! We ate this for leftovers all week. It was such a big hit. I’m probably going to make another batch soon & freeze most of it. I’ll keep you posted!

  3. biz319 says:

    I think I may need to give this one a try – I love cabbage rolls, although I tend to get really gassy after eating cabbage – ha! Thanks for your continued support this week Lori! We are HOME FROM THE HOSPITAL!

  4. Pingback: Kale & Sausage Casserole | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  5. Pingback: Wonderful Wednesday WI & Delicious Recipe Review | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

