Kale & Sausage Casserole

A couple of weeks ago I posted a recipe I tried out from Skinnytaste.comthe Stuffed Cabbage Casserole, which was amazing!  She actually adapted that recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen.  Well…I’ve got to say I subscribed immediately to her blog.  The recipes are mouthwatering!  Best of all they’re low-glycemic, which is ideal for a “pre-diabetic” mama like myself – not to mention having a type 1 diabetic Husband! 

Well, when this beauty came across my e-mail I knew it was a MUST MAKE recipe.  I pretty much followed her recipe, but used what I had on hand, so I noted the changes below in red.

The result…  Oh My Lord…  This is a perfect version of my kick butt Lasagna made lighter.  I’m so excited to play around with it more on my next take.  Natie loves it & has actually been enjoying the leftovers with Mommy & Daddy!  That means it’s toddler approved & he’s getting in veggies – KALE!!!

Kale & Sausage Casserole

adapted from Kalyn’s Kitchen – Sausage & Kale Mock Lasagna Casserole

050

Ingredients:

2 medium-sized bunches of kale
1 tsp. salt (for water to cook kale)
2 tsp. olive oil – I omitted since I had pork sausage, which tends to be a fatter meat – aka no need for added oil
1 pkg (19.5 oz) hot turkey Italian Sausage – I couldn’t find any hot turkey or chicken sausage at the store I was at, so I grabbed hot pork sausage
3 cups low-sugar pasta sauce – as luck would have it, I had leftover sauce from the night before with Gamma & Papa’s visit!
1 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. ground fennel – I keep fennel seeds on hand for my lasagna, so it worked out perfectly for this.
2 T + 2 T finely grated Parmesan cheese – I always have plenty of Pecorino Romano Cheese on hand so I used that.
1 C + 1 C grated reduced-fat mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a large glass casserole dish with non-stick spray.

Add the salt to a large pot of water and bring to a boil. Trim stems from the kale, then into ribbons about 1/2 inch wide. Add the kale to the boiling water & cook 5-6 minutes.

010

Drain kale into a colander in the sink and let it continue to drain while you brown the sausage.  Kalyn used a salad spinner to really get all the water out – if you have one – I recommend using it.

Spray your frying pan with a non-stick cooking spray.  Squeeze the sausage out of the casings.  Sauté until the sausage is cooked through and nicely browned, be sure to break it apart with a wooden spoon as it cooks.

012

When the sausage is done, add the pasta sauce, dried basil and fennel. Stir to combine and let the sauce simmer 20-25 minutes, or until it’s thickened and the liquid is reduced.

017

In the casserole dish, layer 1/2 the drained kale, sprinkle 2 T Parmesan, 1/2 the sauce, and 1 cup mozzarella. Repeat with another layer of kale, Parmesan, sauce, and mozzarella.

022023025

Cover the dish with foil and bake for 20-25 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake another 15-20 minutes or until the casserole is bubbling and cheese is starting to brown.

Let the Kale & Sausage Casserole sit for about 5 minutes before you dig in!

Serves 8. Based on the nutritional information on the ingredients I used this recipe came out to 7 pointsplus per serving.

047

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kale & Sausage Casserole

  1. kp says:

    Looks so yummy! I am going to try this for sure!

  2. That looks so good, Lori! I’m totally on a kale kick this week!

  3. Brooke Ann says:

    I’ve pinned the stuffed cabbage casserole, glad to know it’s good!!

    This also looks amazing!!!!

  4. Looks delicious!! I’m definitely going to try this. I’ve not had any luck finding ground chicken or turkey sausage either.

  5. Biz says:

    I am not a fan of kale, but don’t you think I could just substitute baby spinach? Looks yummy! Have a great weekend!

    • Lori says:

      I don’t think you can do Spinach. Kale is firmer…and holds up better than spinach. I think the spinach would just create mush….though it’s worth a try! 😛

  6. Brooke Ann says:

    Tag! You’re it! Be sure to go to my blog (http://brookenotonadiet.wordpress.com/2012/02/04/11×11/) and check it out! 🙂

  7. Simply Life says:

    I love all the layers in this! looks great!

  8. Pingback: Wonderful Wednesday WI & Delicious Recipe Review | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  9. Rachel says:

    I did half the sausage amount and then added 1/2 cup of quinoa and 1 cup of vegetable broth to the meat mixture. Turned out fantastic!

Leave a Reply

