February Foodie Penpal Reveal!

When I found Brooke: Not on a Diet’s blog last month I came across her post on her January Foodie Penpal Reveal.  My thoughts were immediately – how can I get involved?! Open-mouthed smile  Thankfully she included the details at the end of her post (as I do below) and the rest is history!

I have to tell you, coming home to a package on your door step is like Christmas.  Add to the fact I was coming home FAMISHED from a trip upstate – seeing that box…and knowing there was food inside – watch out!  That box didn’t stand a chance!

Check out the great loot I got from Heather over at Better With Veggies!

034

When I first opened the package I HAD to tear into something.  I just came from travelling from upstate through lunch time & well….these took a hit!

036

Then…even though my hunger was satisfied my interest was intrigued.  I spotted my absolute favorite nut of all times – Cashews!  Throw on some chili & cheddar – and WOW!

038

I just had to sample everything!  Loved the crunch on these…

039

What is this?  Stained glass?

050

Why no….it’s spicy seaweed!

040

…and you can’t go wrong with something sweet…

041

I have to say, my absolutely favorite thing was THIS!

044

I had to wait for Rich to get home because he is a BIG jerkjerky fan & I knew he’d be interested in trying this with me.  Boy was I right – the two of us were amazed that it was mushrooms!  Amazing & perfect for anyone who is a fan of beef jerky looking to try something different.

Despite my AWESOME package I’m unable to participate in March’s foodie penpal, but am certainly joining again in April!  I can’t wait!

Head over to Living Lindsayto see what goodies she got from me!  (Not to mention check out her inspiring blog!)

And now it’s time for some details about Foodie Penpals.In case you’re a new reader, here’s a reminder of what the program is all about:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)
-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.
-Foodie Penpals is open to US & Canadian residents. Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. So, I’m going to keep two separate lists and match US w/ US and Canada w/ Canada!

If you’re interested in participating for March, please send an email to Lindsay at theleangreenbean@gmail.com and include the following information:
-Your full name
-Your email address
-Your blog name/address
-Your twitter handle (if applicable)
WHETHER YOU ARE A US RESIDENT OR CANADIAN RESIDENT. – this is SUPER important so you get on the right list!

You must submit your information by March 4thas pairings will be emailed on March 5th!

***PLEASE NOTE: if you send an email, you WILL GET A RESPONSE within 48 hours. If you don’t….please re-send your email or contact Lindsay via Twitter (@LeanGrnBeanBlog). Last month we had a few emails get lost as spam so we’re trying to avoid that!

Foodie Penpals
About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to February Foodie Penpal Reveal!

  1. Jane says:

    What an awesome idea! Looks like you got some pretty cool stuff!

  2. kp says:

    So cool! I meant to ask you about this. Yummo!

  3. Sarah says:

    Lori, what a cool idea!!

  4. I’m so glad you liked everything. I was nervous about included that jerky in the box, so I’m glad to hear that you loved it like I do!! It was so fun building the box and getting treats from new friends is quite tasty. 🙂

    • Lori says:

      Oh Heather! I’m sooo glad you included the jerky! Never hesitate in future boxes – it could end up being the favorite thing like it was for me!

  5. Pingback: A Box Full of Foodie Goodies! - Better With Veggies | Better With Veggies

  6. Richgail Enriquez says:

    I loove that Explosive Espresso Cookie, my fave..so yum and it does get you going.

  7. Julie says:

    You hit the jackpot! I’ve seen but never tried any of those items. I need some of those Southwest cashews!

  8. Andrea says:

    Um, those look fantastic! Those sumersaults especiallly. I’m gonna have to look for those at my grocery story!

  9. kfaye78 says:

    Your spicy seaweed picture is fantastic!! You are also brave to try mushroom jerky… I might not have been so brave. Good for you! 🙂

  10. biz319 says:

    Love all the loot! Hope you had a great weekend!

  11. Pingback: March Foodie Penpal Reveal! | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  12. Pingback: A Box Full of Foodie Goodies!

Leave a Reply

