How can I run my 5k on Saturday when I can’t even walk?

That was the question I asked myself all day as I came home laid up on the couch with a back spasm…

IMG_20121002_105557

This morning started out as any normal rush rush morning with a toddler.  After I made a pot of coffee I started putting dishes away & some went in the dishwasher.  As I bent down to put two dishes in I collapsed right into the dishwasher face first.  Plates went on the floor, Rich & Natie came running to my rescue.  That was it – I was done.  I thought I’d be ok to go to work today.  Keep in mind I couldn’t walk without Rich’s assistance.  I dreamt of a walker for support.  I somehow made it to work & lasted a whole 45 minutes.  Sitting killed my lower back & walking around with my office chair as support was insane.  The best position was on the floor – umm…not much work getting done.  My PIC, Kim over at Getting Fabuless helped me pack up my things & literally walk me to the car.  She was my crutch.  I got home & the above pic was me all day – except when I had to go to the bathroom – I managed to crawl on my hands & knees.

The last time this happened was oddly enough a year ago, wait – I think exactly?  Is that possible?  Funny, but I had a sneezing attack.  Non-stop sneeze – hard, violent to the core sneezing.  So bad my back spasm & I couldn’t walk.  We happened to go pumpkin picking that day & I had to use Natie’s stroller as a walker to get around.  I was walking at a snail’s pace…my then 2 year old was doing laps around me.  I remember when we got home, after taking 20 minutes to get in the door, crying, with Rich’s help, I drank a margarita & laid on the floor with my back stretcher.  So I figured today laying on the back stretcher would help – something?

Nope.  I knew by the end of the day I needed a chiropractor visit.  My chiropractor is the BEST there is.  He’s so fantastic that I travel a long distance to see him since I moved.  I called him & there were no appointments available until Friday.  My heart broke.  I never thought I’d ever do what I did next…  I called another chiropractor…  I felt not only like I was cheating, but a bit fearful being I’ve seen my share of chiropractors & when you find someone as good as Dr. P – you don’t go to another – regardless of location, but the pain I was in needed immediate attention.  Thankfully he had an appointment for me within the hour.  I managed to get out the door & in to see him.  So far I like him – he’s no Dr. P, but the proximity to my home & work is perfect.  What amazes me is by the time I hopped off the table I could stand up straight.  I felt 7 ft. tall!  I could walk!  I was amazed.  I asked him the most important question on my mind – can I run my 5k on Saturday?  He seems to think I can.  I’ll be going back tomorrow & for now resting my back the best I can.

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How can I run my 5k on Saturday when I can’t even walk?

  1. Jane says:

    oh my gosh!!!!! I’m glad you were able to get into a chiropractor to get some relief! I hope it continues to feel better! Isn’t back pain the worst???

    • Lori says:

      Oh Jane – so true – the worst! I was actually in tears – thankfully I’m standing upright today & could get a walk in, but I’m counting down the minutes until I can see the chiropractor again today!

  2. Gail says:

    feel better!!

  3. Sasha says:

    What a roadblock! I know you’ll overcome it. Feel better!!

  4. so glad that you prioritized your well-being. Rock on!

  5. Sara says:

    Oh wow, you poor thing! We were just talking about this with my recent back hangup. I never did go in to see a chiro and it just went away after a week–but I was able to walk and sit so I think if I was as bad as you were things would have gone differently. So glad you can walk again though! Body pain is the worst.

    • Lori says:

      I refuse to let this get me down. I managed to stretch out the back with a power walk today at lunch. If I was able to walk & didn’t have the 5k on Saturday I probably would have put off calling the Chiro, but crawling to the bathroom & having to miss work was the pits.

  6. Azad says:

    Oh no Lori!!! I hope you are all better. Back pain is THE worst. Lots of hugs!! Wishing you a quick recovery!

  7. Pingback: Wednesday WI & quick update on my back | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  8. Pingback: Wednesday WI | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  9. Pingback: Checking in… | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

