Wednesday WI

Hi all – power has been back on for me since Saturday night!  Seriously, when it came on I had no clue what was going on.  I still found myself reaching for the flashlight to go to other rooms.  It took some adjusting.  The heat was the first thing we turned on when it came on.  It’s been frigid here this past week & there are still so many more people without power.  Heck, so many without homes.  It’s so very tragic here.  You can’t help but be affected by what is going on in this area if you live here.  Not to mention the gas lines.  Good Lord.  People are out for blood.  I heard someone got shot trying to cut the line….  insane.  They predict the gas supply will be back to normal by the weekend.  I hope so because patience isn’t something I have & sitting in line for something like gas isn’t my cup of tea! I’d rather ride my bike places!

Speaking of riding my bike…pretty much the only exercise I was able to get in was riding my bike.  GREAT thing I bought that bike trailer on Craigslist for Natie because that was our main mode of transportation on Saturday.  Ok, actually it was our ONLY mode of transportation.  It was odd passing the gas station with miles of cars on one side & a huge line of people on the other waiting to fill up their gas containers…sipping hot coffee to keep warm.  I kept wonder were they filling up because they truly needed the gas for their generators or were they just filling up to fill up?  People are panicking & lining up for gas when they still have half to 3/4 of a tank.

The other activity I got was some cleanup after the storm.  Thankfully we didn’t lose too many trees or limbs.  In the 5 years we’ve been in our home we’ve had our dead trees removed & trees pruned twice.  We did lose a HUGE limb on one of our healthy oak trees, but we’re so incredibly thankful it didn’t hit our house.  It was a good 5 feet away.  Here’s a funny shot of Natie & I moving it to the front of the house – great for my back, right?!  oy!

20121030_091837

20121030_084410

So…onto the WI!  This week I did MUCH better that I expected…I gained 2.4.  You’re probably thinking, what?  She’s ok with a big gain?  Sure am!  Want to know why…because I expected a LOT more!  I found myself last week under a lot of stress.  I spent the first 24 hours eating whatever I could so my food wouldn’t spoil – stupid, yes I know, but I did it.  Then, I spent the rest of the time eating out.  Thankfully, my PIC Kim over at Getting Fabuless never lost power  and opened up her home to my family for 3 nights for a home cooked meal & showers!  If I didn’t have that I would have probably gained 5+ lbs.!  Rich would pick up bagels in the morning or we’d have pizza or Chinese or diner food to eat.  I’m sure I could have easily made better decisions, but I didn’t.  I have no one to blame but myself…oh…and that damn Halloween candy I couldn’t get rid of because Halloween was pretty much cancelled in my neighborhood.

Besides – this 2.4 gain is over 2 weeks.  I didn’t WI last week because I could have cared less.  I’m slowly getting back on track.  Keyword there is slowly.  Looks like I didn’t conquer this stress/emotional eating habit like I thought I did!  I will say – the more crapy foods I ate – the crappier I felt.  So I guess that saying “You are what you eat.” really rang true to me this past week!

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday WI

  1. KP says:

    Such a great attitude about the gain. We loved having you over! Happy to are back on track. I need you on this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

