It’s the holiday season…

…and you know what happens during this time of year – I gain, gain & gain.  I have to admit…I’m a bit terrified.  I really haven’t been “in control” since Sandy.  It’s taking all I have to gain that control back.  Now, with parties, amazing cookie recipes coming to my e-mail box just about every day & my lack of strength I’m afraid of slipping further away from my ultimate goal – which is to lose weight and get healthy.

I decided to step on the scale this morning just to gauge where I’ll be tomorrow & I didn’t like what I saw.  So far I’m up from last week…just a little, but still up.  I looked back over the weekend & evaluated my meals & activity on MFP.  I was over just about every day – only a little though & to be honest all days were filled with a lot of movement.  Tons of walking with shopping & being out & about all weekend.  No “real” workouts – you know me, unless I’m running I won’t count it.  That could be part of my problem, but I also don’t want to fool myself into thinking I’m burning tons of cals casually strolling around the stores either.  The one thing that stood out to me was the types of food I was eating.  If anyone knows me…I’m a big veggie eater.  I LOVE vegetables!  I’m the weirdo who got excited when I found a can of kidney beans in my desk at work – seriously – just ask my PIC Kim.  HA!  We still crack up about that.  Anyway, I noticed Sunday was a big carb filled day for me…  Listen to this…  breakfast – pancakes, lunch – bagel, snack – cheese stick & mincemeat tart, dinner – pasta.  Whoa – do you see any veggies in there?  Do you see any healthy foods in there besides the cheese stick?  Crazy!  So I spoke to Kim about this and we both agreed we need to get back to meal planning.  Planning well balanced meals for the week every Sunday.  It’s something we both MUST do to help us stay on track.  When we do it – it works, we see results & feel much better all around.

Oh…and sadly, my running is taking a back seat until I get rid of this cough/possible bronchitis.  I’m heading to the doctor’s today to see what’s happening with me.  Hopefully I can recover & get back to running next week.  Sadly – it’ll feel like starting all over again when I do start back up, but I need to hit that goal.  Mama needs new shoes!

And because I can’t have a blog post without pictures – here’s a family picture from Sunday’s Christmas festival at the Hallockville Museum Farm.

IMG_20121202_175841

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s the holiday season…

  1. LOL you and your can of beans. Yeah definitely need to get back on track with your veggies and fiber! We just have to take it one meal at a time and we will get through the holidays. Yes meal planning starting this Sunday! Do you just want to post on our blogs instead of emailing to each other?

  2. Sarah says:

    Get over that croup! It sucks 😦 You are looking great though!!

  3. biz319 says:

    I am doing this Skinny Snowman challenge – and I get points for getting my water, veggies and fruits in – that’s been helping me!

    And I am truly lost without a meal plan – I hope to get to my group exercise class after work today, I forgot that it’s a new month, which means a new schedule – I am hoping the class I did last week is available tonight!

    Either way, I am swimming at lunch. 😀 You can do this!

  4. Pingback: What happened to me last week–Wednesday WI! | Fit n' Healthy Mama

  5. Steve Kline says:

    Love the family pic!!

Leave a Reply

