Sometimes you just need to rest…

So Thursday was my first workout of the new year.  It was also the first run I’ve done in a long time being I’ve been sick for the entire month of December.  Well…..it wasn’t really the smartest idea.  It was 26 degrees outside, which normally  – whatever…I’m a tough girl, I can handle it, but when you have asthma & are still recovering from a bronchial issue….26 degrees can feel like your lungs are on fire and your wheezing like an overweight chain smoker walking up a flight of stairs.  The rest of the day I ended up coughing more, feeling achy & just wanted to get home to bed.

Long story short…(is it really?) I spent the entire day on Friday home, on the couch resting.  Occasionally Natie would jump on me & climb all over me while I was resting…I’ve got to say it felt amazing…like a little massage on those achy muscles. 

Here’s my rocking getup….I was quite warm.  I just need to get something to cover my mouth.  Scarf?  One of those face masks?  – Any recommendations?  I don’t want the full hood – I’m all for looking like a ninja, but I’m not sure my neighbors would appreciate a crazy ninja running down the road.  Open-mouthed smile

b9f62c5a561111e2ac3122000a1fb77a_7

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sometimes you just need to rest…

  1. biz319 says:

    Yep, even when I feel fine I still need to cover my face if I am outside – the cold air is just too shocking to my lungs! Hope you feel better today – I love your smile in that picture!

  2. Sasha says:

    I’m sure you can find a cute face mask, after all, there are runners in the Midwest who don’t take a break. I would check online, probably eastbay.com, for cute gear. Good job on getting out there though. I know it isn’t the easiest!

  3. Sarah says:

    I use a Buff in winter for my face – I have a pretty purple one!

  4. Looking cute PIC! Feel better Momma.

  5. Jane says:

    awww that sucks! I remember I ran once when it was like 13 degrees out, and never again! lol

  6. Sara says:

    I’m the same way with cold air and my lungs—just doesn’t mesh well. When I see people out running in the cold here in Colorado (we have less oxygen here too!) I just don’t get it.

  7. Pingback: Wednesday WI–Stella got her groove back | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

