It’s the New Year & I’m Checking In!

Hey everyone!  Been busy here at FNHM…but seriously, who isn’t?

I keep saying after the holidays things will die down & we can “regroup”, but that never seems to happen as I look at my old school paper planner & see the calendar filling up!

Some Fit N’ Healthy news…  My PIC, Kim and I joined Planet Fitness in December!  We were so tired of making excuses not to work out during lunch because of the weather…ice, rain, you name it that we discovered a Planet Fitness not far from our job.  Being lunch time workouts work out to be best for the both of us we joined. 

PF

I’ve been averaging 3 – 4 times a week and eventually would like to throw in a weekend workout, but for now the weekends have me so busy I’m more than happy with the amount of activity I have going on.  I’m finding myself alternating c25k and the express workout.  It’s a great beginning balance for me right now & helps maximize my time in the gym being it’s a limited lunch time work out.  I’ve even been taking advantage of the black card membership by using the hydromassage bed, massage chairs & red light therapy.  Why not?!

Yes, you heard me say c25k…  Love the program and it’s giving me the running bug I missed.  I’ve said many times it’s my therapy because it really is.  The endorphin rush is unbeatable.  Today I’m doing week 5 day 1.  It ups the runs from 5 minutes to 8 minutes.  So I’m both excited and nervous.  I’m excited for the push, but nervous that I won’t be able to do it.  Silly, right?  What’s there to be nervous about?  It’s not like I’m going to be ridiculed or humiliated.  There are times I think of how I used to run an entire 5k without missing a beat.  I keep trying to say – this is a new chapter in my life.  I’ll get there again, I know I will.  I’m already planning for my first 5k.  Now if only I can just commit and book the damn thing! 

How’s everyone doing with fitness in the new year?  Anyone running any fun 5ks? 

About Lori

I'm a 39 year old Mom to a wonderful little boy - who lights up my life. I'm happily married to boot! Currently working on getting my health, which includes my weight in order. I'm hoping this blog will be a tool in my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s the New Year & I’m Checking In!

  1. Woohoo so proud of us for joining the gym and actually going…lol. You will rock out the run today and if you don’t so what…you are at the gym and doing the best you can. Keep it up!!!

  2. biz319 says:

    So proud of you guys! I love my lunch time workouts – I get the “resident” rate at a high end tennis club that has all the bells and whistles since my work is in the same town – just started taking advantage of group classes and did my first Zumba class yesterday – loved it!

    • Lori says:

      I don’t know why I’m so terrified of Zumba! HA! It’s an amazing workout, but I feel like I’ll be fumbling the entire way… I “may” do a 2 hour benefit class on Friday. Wish me luck… (yikes!)

Leave a Reply

